Top Ten Tuesday: Best Sequels 9/24/13

 

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and the Bookish are talking sequels. You know that dreaded Second Book Syndrome? No? Well it is a strange literary phenomenon where the second book from an author fails to live up to the amazing standards of the first and/or subsequent books. It is sad when it happens, but I can’t even imagine the pressure on authors. Anyway, there is none of that here! These sequels are just as, if not more, brilliant than the first book.

1. Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor. This sequel to The Daughter of Smoke & Bone is freaking brilliant. It is absolutely devastating and I really, really need Dreams of Gods & Monsters. Now.

days of blood

2. Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld. I must confess that first time I read Leviathan I was slightly underwhelmed. I know, I know. What was I thinking? In mydefense…My first time with Leviathan was audio and while Alan Cumming is a brilliant narrator, I did not get to experience the illustrations. I loved it so much more the second time, when I actually read the book. But my own level of enjoyment does not actually change the fact that I thought Behemoth was even better.

behemoth

3. Where She Went by Gayle Forman. If I Stay was great, but Adam’s story brought me to tears. And I am not much of a book crier.

where she went

4. Game by Barry Lyga. I loved meeting Jasper Dent in I Hunt Killers, but Game really upped the ante. This was an intense and creepy sequel. I am ready for more!

game

5. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. Is it possible to top Cinder? Apparently it is. Great new characters, layers and layers of story. I can’t wait to see how she weaves two more story lines into the mix.

scarlet

6. The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy. Readers met the bumbling band of Princes in The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom.  Hilarity ensued. The sequel was just as funny, but what I loved most was the character growth. And the hilarity, of course.

hero's guide

7. Prodigy by Marie Lu. Legend was an exciting and fast-paced debut and I really enjoyed it. Prodigy was even more awesome and I am looking forward to the series conclusion with Champion.

prodigy

8. Red Glove by Holly Black. I LOVE Cassel Sharpe and his crazy con artist story. There are plenty of surprises in this sequel to White Cat.

red glove

9. The Burning Bridge by John Flanagan. I enjoyed the first book in The Ranger’s Apprentice series enough to pick up the next book. Each book was better than the one before! Before I knew it, I had devoured all eleven books and now I am anxiously awaiting the final book!

burning bridge

10. Frost by Wendy Delsol. Honestly, the Stork series does not get enough love. Norse mythology? Sassy heroine? Win-win.

frost

Honorable Mentions:

as dead as it gets spirit and dust catchingfire

 

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Sequels 9/24/13

  1. Great list! I have a few of the same ones on my list: Scarlet, Days of Blood and Starlight and Catching Fire. All such wonderful sequels!
    My Friends Are Fiction’s Top Ten Tuesday

  2. These are such a great selection! I really want to read the Cinder series, so may have to bump it up my to be read list.

  3. Great list! I love the diversity! I am adding some of these to my TBR list as we speak!

  4. I still loved Cinder more but Scarlet was amazing! And Days of Blood and Starlight was absolutely phenomenal!

    Great list 🙂

    My Top Ten

  5. Game!!! I just started reading it, but put it on my list this week anyhow. I love it already. It’s a cool series!!

    My TTT

  6. I can’t wait to read Days of Blood & Starlight and Scarlet! I love the first books, but I think maybe these prequels can be even better! Great list! And thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  7. I just read (listened via audiobook) to White Cat and I really liked it. I’m definitely going to continue with the series, and I”m glad to hear that the sequel is just as amazing!

    I almost included Storming the Castle, but decided on something else. It is an honorable mention, though, for me. And Spirit and Dust and Scarlet also made my TTT.

    I’m so glad to hear that you loved Game, because I plan on listening to I Hunt Killers soon.

Leave a Reply

