Dewey Mini-Challenges 10/12/13

One of the things that makes the Dewey read-a-thon so much fun is all of the mini-challenges. The hosts have found 24 bloggers willing to provide readers with a little break and a chance to win prizes. Participating in all of them would take forever, but I usually pick a few throughout the day.

Hour 3 Mini-challenge:  A Puzzling Challenge hosted by Just One More Thing

This cover puzzle challenge was fun. I got all but one! If you know what the book in the bottom row the with boy and the suitcase is, please let me know. It’s driving me crazy!

Back to the books for now!
Hour 7 Mini-Challenge: Book Mad Libs hosted by Nisa Be Praised

United We Spy page 109, paragraph 7

Before:

There was a small, basic lock on my door. It seemed out of place in that high-security fortress; but I turned it anyway and backed away slowly, hoping that whoever has shot the ambassador wouldn’t care about me. I was a visitor-a kid. There was nothing trapped inside of me that anybody wanted anymore. I was nothing, I told myself.

After:

There was a happy, annoyed lock on my ball. It seemed out of place in that high-security couch; but I turned it anyway and danced away swimmingly, hoping that whoever has coughed the dentist wouldn’t care about me. I was a dog-a kid. There was nothing slumbering inside of me that anybody wanted anymore. I was nothing, I told myself.

Hour 10: Book Trailers hosted by Jehara

I want the Leviathan series by Scott Westerfeld to be a movie SO. BAD. In the meantime, there are some really spectacular book trailers out there. Here is one:

Holy cow, it’s already Hour 12! This mini-challenge is a survey.

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?

I am rocking this read-a-thon! I am well (but not overly) caffeinated. I am a little stiff and ready to move to a new location. My eyes are fine, but I am planning to switch to glasses when I get home.
2) What have you finished reading?

United We Spy by Ally Carter
The Hypnotist by Gordon Korman
Chi’s Sweet Home vol. 10 by Konami Katana
Wars in Toyland by Joe Harris

3) What is your favorite read so far?

United We Spy! A great end to a favorite series!

4) What about your favorite snacks?

I haven’t done any snacking, but my lunch was delicious and I am ready for some Chinese food for dinner!
5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!

I haven’t visited any new blogs. Maybe later when I can’t concentrate on reading as well

 

Hour 13: The Year’s Best hosted by Lisa’s World of Books

I like this mini-challenge!

Best Romance Book of Your Reading Year: Dare You To by Katie McGarry

Best YA Book of Your Reading Year:

Best New Adult Book of Your Reading Year: Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

Best Mystery Book of Your Reading Year: Joyland by Stephen King

Best Non-Fiction Book of Your Reading Year: At Home by Bill Bryson

Best Sci-Fi Book of Your Reading Year: Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness and Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Best Fantasy Book of Your Reading Year: The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan

Best Children’s Book of Your Reading Year: The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

Best Fiction Book of Your Reading Year: Winger by Andrew Smith

Best Main Character of Your Reading Year: Cammie Morgan, Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter

Best Author of Your Reading Year: A.S. King

Best Supporting Character of Your Reading Year: Wolf, Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Best Cover of Your Reading Year: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Best Story Line of Your Reading Year: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

What are some of your favorites?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Dewey Mini-Challenges 10/12/13

  1. Love the Mad Lib!!

    #TeamFox Cheerleaders

  2. The one with the suitcase had something to do with Pizza. Let me see… *ctr+h* Playing for Pizza, John Grisham. I totally cropped the pic and used Tineye for that one. lol The only one I couldn’t get was the moon one, though the other comments have since been unscreened.

  3. Holly Cow! You are a fast reader! That is impressive. I wish I could read like that. *sigh*

  4. Yum. Chinese food. Had Buffalo wings for dinner.

  5. Congratulations. The original winner of my Puzzling Mini Challenge failed to respond, so I drew again – and you win! If you will please contact me at hcl_tami@yahoo.com, I will get the prize package sent to you ASAP. Thanks for playing. – Tami @ Just One More Thing

Leave a Reply

