Mondays With Megan-Fall 2013 Dewey Wrap-Up and What Are You Reading?

Wow! What a busy weekend!

dewey1-300x300

As you may already know, Saturday was the Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon. This was my fifth time participating and as usual, it was loads of fun. I read 6 books and participated in 5 mini-challenges. I made it to Hour 18. I could have pushed on, but I knew I had a crazy week ahead of me and decided that sleep was more important. Ready for my giant Monday reading list? Good!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading IMWAYR

Be sure to visit Book Journey, Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for more list!

Finished:

rose under fire united we spy chi 10 hypnotists wars sweet tooth wild cards

I realized that I missed last week, but I decided to just skip those books….I *finally* finished Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein! It was a difficult read for a couple of reasons. First, I thought it had a slow start. Second, the subject matter is so difficult for me handle in large doses. Nevertheless, I am glad I read it. I also finally tucked in to the final Gallagher Girls, United We Spy, by Ally Carter! I loved it. A perfect ending. The tenth volume of Chi’s Sweet Home by Konami Kanata was particularly adorable and entertaining and even had a bit of a cliffhanger! Gordon Korman has a new series out called The Hypnotists. It was a quick and exciting read and I will definitely follow the series. My other two books were graphic novels. Wars in Toyland  by Joe Harris and Sweet Tooth vol.1 by Jeff Lemire were both unusual and I very much enjoyed them. Oops! I forgot Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles! Another sexy addition to the Elkeles shelf.

Current Audio:

dream thieves life love elephants

I am really enjoying The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. My only complaint is that I can’t stand the voice the reader uses for Kavinsky. Otherwise, the story is moving along nicely with lots of twisty turns and a new and mysterious character. I am also continuing my nonfiction audio streak with Love, Life, and Elephants by Daphne Sheldrick.

Currently Reading:

house of hades monsters ashton place

House of Hades!!!! I am surprised to find myself lingering and savoring this one rather than greedily devouring it! I am still working on Monsters by Ilsa Bick in small, manageable doses. So horrific! I am also slowly picking at The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place by Maryrose Wood.

On Deck:

sisters all our prep school

This month my department is reading Westerns, so I need to get started on The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt. I am also hoping to get to All Our Yesterday by Cristin Terrill and Prep School Confidential by Kara Taylor.

What are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Fall 2013 Dewey Wrap-Up and What Are You Reading?

  1. OOOOOOH! I need to read United We Spy. Because Gallagher Girls equals awesome.

  2. I need to read United We Spy. Glad to know you liked The Hypnotists. I saw it at my book fair and was really curious about it. I’ll have to add it to the wish list! Have a good reading week.

  3. I just have to say that The Sisters Brothers has quite the amazing cover! And a question: how do you think Wars in Toyland and Sweet Tooth would work for grades 6-8?

  4. Lots of great reads! I cannot wait to get my hands on House of Hades, I have stopped myself from just ordering it from amazon several times, since I have it on my library order that should come soon. Love your variety and need to read The Hypnotists, looks great!

    Check out what we’re reading

  5. I’m also glad to hear a positive review for The Hypnotist, it is just the age bracket of readership that I am always on the hunt for!

Leave a Reply

