Top Ten Tuesday-Books I Made Myself and Others Read 10/15/13

toptentuesday

I decided to tweak this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic. The Broke and the Bookish asked about books we were forced to read. I haven’t been forced to read anything since I was in school (and for the most part I  enjoyed what I  read). I have been told by friends and coworkers that I really needed to read certain books, and for the most part I have obliged, but I never feel obligated to finish a book that is not for me. So, I decided to make a list of the books that I forced myself to read because I felt that I should. I will also throw in some books that I have pressured others to try to a few that I was encouraged to read by others.

Most recently I was totally peer pressured into this:

game

Everyone at work was reading it. All the cool kids were doing it. This was the best peer pressure ever!

Books I Forced Myself to Read

1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

book thief

Everyone was raving about this one, so I of course had to see what all the fuss was about. I tried to read it. I really did. I could not get into it so I gave up. Then I felt guilty so I really did force myself to try again. The second time I took the audiobook home and that made all the difference in the world! I am so glad I made myself try again.

2. The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan

ruinsA couple of years ago I realized that I only had a few go-to “boy” books to recommend to my teen readers. I needed to remedy that and branch out in terms of my reading. So I wandered around in my collection and randomly picked up the first book in the series. The cover screamed BOY and I was skeptical. Little did I know what I was getting myself into! I have so much love for this series.

3. Blood Red Road by Moira Young

blood red road

Out of the blue I received an ARC of this book. I read the back and scoffed. I skimmed the first few pages and was immediately put off by the dialect. Fast forward a few weeks…I guiltily dusted it off and tried again. After about 20 pages I was used to the dialect and knew I had discovered a new favorite.

4. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

enders gameIt’s the Holy Grail of Sci-Fi! It’s going to be a movie! It’s a must-read for everyone! Nope. Not. At. All. I tried and quit and I am a-ok with that. No looking back. That is not the book for me.

5. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

jellicoe road

*See The Book Thief above.

6. Germinal by Émile Zola

germinal

I am so proud of myself for finishing this! Talk about a challenge.

7. The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R Tolkien

tolkien

This is another series that I found incredibly challenging, but I stuck with it and really enjoyed the story.

Books I Strongly Encourage Others to Read:

8. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

rook

This one requires a little force. It’s so weird, but I loved it!

9. Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

fiveflavorsof-dumb

Yeah, I have forced many people to read this favorite of mine. Go do it!

10. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer

bloody jack

I like to push the audio version of this series. Not familiar with Jacky Faber? You should be! Hands down my favorite audio series ever. No pressure.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

 

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books I Made Myself and Others Read 10/15/13

  1. I absolutely adore the book thief, I’ve read it twice and can’t wait for the movie. I have read and enjoyed a few others on your list. kelley—the road goes ever ever on

  2. Some books ‘everyone’s reading’ are just not for everyone. I haven’t gotten into the Game of Thrones, myself, because I’ve hear Martin makes you fall in love with characters, and then mercilessly kills them off. Again. And Again.

    And that makes me sad.

  3. Although I did finish Ender’s Game, I felt the same way — all the characters were flat and unrealistic, and I was bored. I guess it was supposed to be allegorical and therefore allowed to be “flat,” but I mostly just finished it so I would know what everyone was talking about.

  4. A friend actually sent me her copy of Dust lands awhile back. I have yet to start it, but I hear great things! Awesome list.

    Here is our list

    By the way, we are giving away a signed ARC of Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles on the blog. Make sure to stop by and enter! 🙂

    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

  5. You’ve got to love The Game of Thrones! I’ve heard some great things about Jellicoe Road, may have to give that a try. I found myself really enjoying Blood Red Road and then ended up hating the sequel! My TTT

  6. I get how the prologue could be a turn off for the book thief but the rest of the story was really good in it’s simplistic yet complex way, And yes GoT is awesome. I’m not a big one for bandwagons but it’s defiantly one you should get on.

Leave a Reply

