Mondays With Megan-Dungeons & Dragons and What Are You Reading 10/21/13

It’s Monday! The weather is brisk (LOVE), my freezer is stocked with homemade soups, and I am feeling motivated! For the past couple of months I have been working on a new project here at work and I am finally feeling confident and excited enough to brag a little. With the help of one very eager and knowledgeable student, I now have a Dungeons & Dragons® club at the library. We have had a few meetings now and all of my new regulars have created their characters, which, by the way, takes forever. Meanwhile, I have been frantically trying to prepare my self to run a game, or Dungeon Master. Did you know that there is a Dungeon Master for Dummies? There is. I have read it. A documentary? It’s called Dungeon Masters. Seen it! I have watched countless YouTube videos, scoured the internet for blogs and articles, and consulted with a couple of friends for advice. I bought my own set of manuals and have added a set of dice to my list of things to buy. I am all in! While D&D and I are about the same age, this epic role-playing game wasn’t even on my radar until a few years ago when I read Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern. In the book the main character is looking for a new group of friends and she finds acceptance with a group of gamers. After reading it was inspired to gather a couple of friends and see what the fuss was all about. I made a character, had a few adventures, and that was the end of it..until now. Last Friday I was finally called up to lead a campaign. I was not ready. I made some mistakes. The kids had an AWESOME time. I learned that the rules are important, but not everything and the players are very forgiving. I will eventually get the hang of things. I am even confident that I will eventually be a really good DM. In the meantime, I am just going to relax, have fun, and let the roll of the dice guide me. That’s the good news. The not so good news is that my obsession with D&D seems to have cut into my reading time…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading new monday

 hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts

Finished:

mrs lincoln dream thieves

Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini was a book club choice. I thought it was interesting glimpse into the lives of both Mary Todd Lincoln and Elizabeth Keckler. It was not a page-turner, but I enjoyed it and we had quite the lively discussion. I also finished listening to The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefater, the second book in the Raven Boys Cycle. I loved it! While Gansey still holds the group together, Ronan, and a new character called the Gray Man steal the show in this book. And now the long wait for book 3 begins…

Current Audio:

life love elephants ptolemy's gate

I am almost finished with Life, Love and Elephants by Daphne Sheldrick. I also started Ptolemy’s Gate by Jonathan Stroud. This has not been my favorite series, but I do enjoy the reader of the audio. I am also on a mission to wrap up series.

Currently Reading:

house of hades  iron traitor born of illusion

Can you believe that I haven’t finished House of Hades yet? I am a bit surprised myself. It’s so good and I am savoring it in small bits. I also started The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa and Born of Illusion by Teri Brown.

Abandoned for Now:

monsters

Monsters by Ilsa Bick is just not working for me right now. I will try again later.

Up Next:

allegiant sisters

I am not sure what I am going to do when I get home from work tomorrow and tear open my copy of Allegiant. Will I set Percy and gang aside? Will I try to juggle both? Also, I really need to get cracking on my book club book. We are reading Westerns and I picked The Sisters Brothers by Patrick de Witt. So many books…so little time (and too many awesome tv shows).

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

6 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Dungeons & Dragons and What Are You Reading 10/21/13

  1. As a bif Lincoln fan, I will have to get a copy of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker.

  2. Wow looks like you have an awesome week ahead of you. Happy reading! 🙂

    By the way, we are celebrating 300 Facebook “Likes” on the blog so make sure to stop by and enter!

    Our list
    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

  3. I’m so glad you’re reading BORN OF ILLUSION! I loved that book and hope to see it on more and more reading lists! I struggled with Ilsa Bick’s ASHES so I haven’t made it to the rest of the series yet; I do have some readers who are eating it up though.

  4. I do hope that as you get to read more of the Bartimaeus trilogy that it would appeal to you more and more. I read that several years back (around six or seven years ago, can’t recall) and enjoyed it thoroughly. Still haven’t gotten around to reading Raven Boys yet, hope to do that this week.

  5. Oh! I read House of Hades in one sitting? I couldn’t put it down, so good to have everyone together.

  6. I picked up Dream Thieves from the library, but haven’t gotten to it yet. I look forward to reading it!

Leave a Reply

