Top Ten Tuesday-Most Unique/Favorite Character Names 10/22/13

toptentuesday

A recent TTT list was all about bookish pet peeve. I did not get a list together for that one, but if I had, weird character names would have been at the top. I think that names like Ever, Belly, Patch, Peeta and Cricket (for a boy) are pretty ridiculous and all total turn offs. However, there are some unique character names that are just perfect. Cool names is the name of the game this week right here and over at The Broke and The Bookish.

1. Karou (and Akiva) from Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I will admit that it took some time for the names (and the story) to grow on me. I love the audio version and the names sound so lovely coming from the reader.

daughter of smoke

2. Flavia de Luce (and her bicycle Gladys!) from the Flavia de Luce series by Alan Bradley. I really love all things Flavia and again, the reader for the audio is phenomenal.

sweetness

3. Halt from The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan. This simple, no-nonsense name is perfect for the gruff old ranger.

ranger

4. Hermione Granger…actually all the HP characters have great names!

harry

5. Gansey and Ronan (but not Blue. I find that annoying) from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

raven boys

6. Khaleesi Daenerys Targaryen from A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. What a bad*** name for a bad*** character. Old George has a bunch of great names, but Dany Stormborn might just be my favorite.

game

7. Jasper Dent from I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. I just think this is a cool name. I love the books too.

i hunt killers

8. Seraphina from Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. I don’t know many dragons, but I assume this is a good name. I wonder if she could hang with Drogon, Rhaegal and Viserion?

seraphina

9. Bartimaeus from the Bartimaeus trilogy by Jonathon Stroud. It just kind of rolls of the tongue. I like it.

bartimaeus

10. Emerson Cole from Hourglass by Myra McEntire. It is a little unusual, but not totally weird. I think it’s kind of pretty. I dig it.

hourglass

I am also a fan of Calpurnia Tate (The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate), Jonah Griggs (Jellicoe Road), Bovril (Leviathan), and Arthur Penhaligon (Keys to the Kingdom).

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Most Unique/Favorite Character Names 10/22/13

  1. I was so close to putting Jasper Dent’s name on my list but I switched it out for Karou. Also, you’re right, all of the HP characters have brilliant names!

    Roxy @ Story Envy

  2. I love all things Flavia, too!!! I listened to the fifth book via audiobook, and oh my gosh, I loved it!!!

    I should have remembered Calpurnia, too. I love that book, and Callie Vee is a perfect name for her. I think it would be a great name for a pet, too.

  3. I’ve never heard of the Flavia series. Was it great? I love that her bicycle was named Gladys because that’s my grandfather’s name.

  4. Yes! I also chose Flavia and Hermione! My Game of Thrones favorite name went to Tyrion though. Excellent choices!

Leave a Reply

