Mondays with Megan-What Are You Reading? 10/28/13

Hello Monday! I had a busy and productive weekend and caught up on some sleep so I am uncharacteristically cheerful and excited about the week. I have a couple of fun stuff happening this week at the library. Today I am hosting a Day of the Dead program. We’ll be learning about and decorating traditional Mexican Sugar Skulls. Tomorrow is a meeting of my new D&D group. They are planning on coming in costume! I can’t wait to see them all. I am also excited to show off some of my newly acquired DM skills!

For my reading week I am looking forward to diving into Allegiant, by Veronica Roth. I couldn’t get to it last week because I was still working on House of Hades by Rick Riordan. I am still mulling that one over in my brain…

My reading pace has slowed down a bit, but I am still working my way through a giant list of books.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading new monday

Be sure to visit Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts to see what others are reading.

Finished:

sweet tooth life love elephants house of hades

I finished the second volume in the Sweet Tooth series by Jeff Lemire. The first volume was not bad and I did not have high expectations for the second. I am glad I decided to continue the series! There is so much more background information in the second volume. The series is set in a post-apocalyptic world destroyed by a plague. All of the children born after the plague are strange human-animal hybrids and no one seems to know why. It’s the kind of weird that’s right up my alley. The dogs and I walked our way through Love, Life, and Elephants by Daphne Sheldrick. I really enjoyed this memoir of a life lived with wild animals in Kenya. Finally, I finished House of Hades by Rick Riordan. I loved spending time with my favorite demi-gods and can’t wait for the final chapter of their story.

Current Audio:

ptolemy's gate eighty dollar

I am still working on Ptolemy’s Gate by Jonathon Stroud. I was a little iffy on it last week, but the story has picked up and regained my interest. I also started The Eighty-Dollar Champion by Elizabeth Letts, continuing my nonfiction audio streak. I guess I am into true animals stories these days. Who knew?

Currently Reading:

sisters born of illusion iron traitor

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick de Witt is my Westerns selection for my work genre discussion group. I am also making slow progress in Born of Illusion and Iron Traitor.

Up Next:

allegiant

I need to read this before I accidentally read spoilers!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Mondays with Megan-What Are You Reading? 10/28/13

  1. Allegiant is on my ‘very soon’ list. I am waiting for a hard copy that is coming on a plane in two days. (I am sure I won’t sleep much that night as I plow through it!)

  2. I am reading Allegiant too…you are right there will be spoilers soon. I hope you have a great reading week!

  3. Ah! I wanna dig into House of Hades but I haven’t read the others in that series so that wouldn’t make sense lol. Have a great reading week!

    Check out what I’m reading here:
    http://toomanywordstonight.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

