Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read For Halloween 10/29/13

toptentuesday

Demons, ghosts, and monsters, oh my! It’s time for all things spooky, creepy, and down-right terrifying. I am big baby when it comes to scary things and I refuse to watch horror movies (or even commercials for horror movies), but I still like a good fright in the form of a book. That I read during the day. In public. And the book can’t even come home with me. Those are the rules. Here are my picks for Halloween Reads. Oh, and stop by The Broke and the Bookish for more terrifying lists.

1. The Diviners by Libba Bray. I think this book is so scary. Seriously. I have read it once and I know I want to read it again. I want to listen to the audio but the thought of actually hearing the Naughty John song freaks me out. I will never be able to unhear it.

diviners

2. In the Shadow of the Blackbirds by Cat Winters. I just recently read this one. It is delightfully creepy!

shadow of the blackbirds

3. Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender. This is a great series. Just creepy enough to make me nervous, but not terrifying. *ahem, Diviners*

bad bad to cursed dead as it gets

4. Ten by Gretchen McNeil. This is a creepy mystery/thriller. It reads like a teen slasher movie!

ten

5. The Stone Child by Dan Poblocki. The monsters from books come to life in this unique horror story.

stone child

6. I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. Serial Killer. That is all. Game is even scarier.

i hunt killers game

7. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. Speaking of serial killers, this one stars the ghost of Jack the Ripper. Spooky!

name of the star

8. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. This is my favorite zombie series ever.

forest of hands and teeth original

9. Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride. Delightfully dark and droll.

hold me closer 2 necromancing

10. Locke & Key by Joe Hill. This graphic novel series is so awesome. It’s very creepy.

locke 1

Honorable Mentions:

walking dead 17 bzrk texas gothic blood oath this is not a tesst

Happy Reading!

หœMegan

 

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read For Halloween 10/29/13

  1. I’m glad Bad Girls Don’t Die isn’t too terrifying. I have it on my TBR and my list this week. Great choices! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Ooh I’ve been meaning to read The Diviners for awhile now! I’m going to buy it when it comes out on paperback early December ๐Ÿ˜‰ I didn’t realize it was a creepy read! Great list.
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    Dee @ Dee’s Reads

  3. I Hunt Killers and Game are both amazing books, especially the end of Game, I have no idea where the series will go from there. Great list, if you liked This is Not a Test I think you might also like Undead by Kirsty McKay.

    Roxy @ Story Envy

  4. The Diviners is one of my favourites! In the Shadow of Blackbirds is my book club’s pick for November and I’m excited to read it!

  5. Wow, those look great and I haven’t heard of most of them…going to have to write those down. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’ve seen In the Shadow of the Blackbirds around a lot lately, I’m going to have to check it out. Ten also sounds great, I just read 3:59 by her and it was good. Fab list!

Leave a Reply

