Mondays With Megan-Fall Fun and a Little Reading

Happy first post-daylight saving time Monday! While I do not generally enjoy the weird changing of the clocks, it is kind of nice to go to work in the daylight. I spent a lot of time this week enjoying fall activities. Last Monday was my sugar skulls program. It was so much fun and I can’t wait to do it again next year. Here are a few photos…at weird angles. I can’t seem to flip them around. My apologizes for any neck strain.

We started with a plain white skull and a few colors of royal icing. A special thanks to my sister-in-law, Amanda Plavan, for making all the skulls! Please visit her blog for pictures of her amazing sugar skulls.

skull plain sugar skull paint

The tools of the trade: sugar and icing

skull mine

This one is mine!

skull2  skulls3 skulls4

skulls5 skulls6

skulls7

The results were impressive!

The rest of my fall fun was jammed into the weekend. Rainy day reading, crock pot chili, and finally, a beautiful Sunday spent out side trailing deer and throwing acorns at trees in the Metroparks with my nephews. Despite the Saturday rainy day reading session, I have little to report this week. Does any one else notice that adult books take longer to read than YA? Is it just me? Never the less, it is time for another It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Check out Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great lists.

mondayreading new monday

Finished:

sisters hony

That’s all. It looks kind of sad, but both books were fabulous! The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt is the story of two hired guns in the Old West. I read a western! And really liked it! Humans of New York is a collection of photographs taken by Brandon Stanton. What started as an attempt to take a photographic census of New York, quickly became a hit blog and now a beautiful book. I love finding a new Hony photo in my Facebook feed. Check out Humans of New York, it’s truly inspiring. Even though I only have two finishes to report, I made tons of progress on my ongoing books.

Currently Audio:

ptolemy's gate eighty dollar

Ptolemy’s Gate by Jonathan Stroud is…long. It has definitely gotten more interesting (only three discs left), but it still has not won a spot on my favorites shelf. The Eighty-Dollar Champion by Elizabeth Letts, on the other hand, has been a fun listen. I should finish today and I will be sad to say goodbye to Snowman and Harry.

Currently Reading:

allegiant iron traitor born of illusion

I am racing against spoilers with Allegiant by Veronica Roth! So far I have been lucky, but I do know that there has been a lot of grumbling about the end. I have also seen complaints about the dual POVs. I get that. It was tricky keeping track of the POV, until about the halfway point. For me, it’s not perfect, but I am willing to suspend disbelief and just go along for the ride. I may even finish tonight. I am still working on my e-books, Iron Traitor and Born of Illusion. It’s slow going because they always take a second seat to a paper books!

On Deck:

I am so excited about what I have waiting.

fangirl reality boy

My next audiobook for the car is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and as soon as I am finished with Allegiant I am diving in to Reality Boy by A.S. King. I still have to find a new Playaway for my dog walks…decisions, decisions.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

4 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Fall Fun and a Little Reading

  1. Humans of New York looks so interesting to me. I will have to chase it down. I enjoyed the audio of Fangirl. Some of it dragged a little, but I really enjoyed the characters.

  2. When do you usually listen to audiobooks? Do you have a long commute? I started listening to Rotters by Daniel Kraus back in July when I took my daughter to visit colleges (by train). But it seems like I have no alone time to finish it. I ride to work with my husband and son so that’s out. There’s always something going on at home. And it stinks because it is such a creepy book and I still remember it well and want to know how it ends!

    • I have a short commute, but I still listen in the car. I also listen while I am walking the dogs. I don’t have a ipod or smartphone to download audio, so I listen to Playaways from the library.

  3. Hi Megan! Lots of books here! I loved Bartimaeus Trilogy when I read that sometime in 2007 if I’m not mistaken. I was just taken by the entire thing. And HUMANS of New York! I’ve been hoping that we get a copy of that in our libraries, it looks like a really beautiful book. Thanks for sharing all these. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

