Mondays With Megan-Veterans Day Reads and What Are You Reading? 11/11/13

On November 11, 1918 a temporary armistice between the Allied nations and Germany went into effect, marking the unofficial end of “the war to end all wars.”  The following year this event was commemorated on the first Armistice Day. This holiday was celebrated until 1954 when Congress changed the day to Veterans Day in order to honor WWII and Korean War veterans. Since that time military conflicts in Vietnam, Afghanistan, and Iraq have brought the total of American Military Veterans to a staggering 21.2 million in 2012. I found that number here. Here are just a few of the countless books dealing with the veterans of war.

Iraq and Afghanistan:

personal effects something like normal somebody please tell me who i am purple heart

Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie, Something Like Normal by Trish Doller, Purple Heart by Patricia McCormick and Somebody, Please Tell Me Who I Am by Harry Mazer.

Vietnam

falling objects okay for now everybody sees the ants

In the Path of Falling Objects by Andrew Smith, Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt, and Everybody Sees Ants by A.S. King.

WWII

rose under fire flygirl war torn sky

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein, Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith, and Under a War-Torn Sky by Laura Elliot

WWI

crossing stones shadow of the blackbirds moon over manifest

Crossing Stones by Helen Frost, In the Shadow of the Blackbirds by Cat Winters, and Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool.

And now for a totally different kind of list!

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts. Be sure to stop by and see what everyone else is up to this week.

Finished:

allegiant reality boy grayson ptolemy's gate

I finished reading Allegiant by Veronica Roth. The more I think about it and talk about it, the more I dislike it. So disappointed. Thankfully I had Reality Boy by A.S. King to jump right into. It was brilliant. I loved every minute of it. I also finished both of my audiobooks. Grayson by Lynne Cox continues my nonfiction audio trend. It was a short, satisfying account of swimming with a lost gray whale. I also finally finished Ptolemy’s Gate by Jonathan Stroud. I did not love this series. I thought the ending was pretty awesome, but it took to long to get the thrilling and surprising end. I am not sure if I will pick up the prequel, The Ring of Solomon, but I will definitely be listening to The Screaming Staircase! The final score: 1 dud, 1 awesome, and 2 just fines.

Current Audio:

fangirl power of habit

I just started Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and I am loving it! I also started The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, which is also really interesting. I think I can safely say that I like to listen to nonfiction. Reading nonfiction is an entirely different thing, but listening is perfect for me.

Currently Reading:

no more royal ranger born of illusion iron traitor

No More Dead Dogs by Gordon Korman is a quick reread for book club. I am going to start The Royal Ranger by John Flanagan tonight. I am very excited! I am still plugging away at (and enjoying) Born of Illusion by Teri Brown and Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa.

Up Next?

bzrk reloaded champion stranger thing

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

4 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Veterans Day Reads and What Are You Reading? 11/11/13

  1. Wonderful Veterans Day list! Thanks for this resource.

  2. Great list of books. I´m looking forward to read Fangirl and Everybody See the Ants.
    Here is My It’s Monday!

  3. What a wonderful text-set. We’ve been toying around with a war-and-peace bimonthly theme in GatheringBooks so I shall bookmark this page for possible resource if we do decide to push through with it. Have a great reading week!

  4. Cool list! I am currently reading Backward Glass by David Lomax and so far I am enjoying it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

