Top Ten Tuesday-Covers I Want to Redesign 11/12/13

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is all about unappealing covers. Many of you have heard my rants about Michael Grant’s Gone series covers (if not, let me catch you up: I hate them) and how much I also hate the redesigned covers of The Curse Workers series by Holly Black. This is old news. I had to dig deep to find some new bad covers. I found this to be surprisingly difficult. I went through my Goodreads list of books read this year and found that there were just a handful of duds.

1. Ashfall and Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin. The first image is the original cover. It’s not great. Sadly, I don’t really care for the redesign either. The heads are weird and I really don’t like the red on Ashen Winter. It looks like a giant muscle.

ashfall ashfall2 ashenwinter

2.Texas Gothic and Spirit and Dust by Rosemary Clement-Moore. These covers just scream FUN, don’t they? Not. Sure, there are ghosts and they are a little spooky, but in a Scooby-Doo kind of way. And what is up with the giant eyeball? Dislike.

texas spirit and dust

3. The Rules by Stacey Kade. I added this one because I don’t like the girl on the cover. But I just now noticed for the first time the guy leaning in for a kiss. How did I read this book and not notice that?!?

rules

4. What Happens Next by Colleen Clayton. I loved this book and I had the privilege of working with the author on a program. My book club is currently reading this book and I can’t wait to discuss it. I am just not a fan of the cover.

what happens next

5. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Ok, so this one is not all that bad. I like the font type and the bold colors, but I can’t help but wonder if it could have been cooler. The book is so cool.

ready

6. Stranger Still by Martin Leicht. I haven’t even had a chance to read this yet, but I am already annoyed by the cover. What was wrong with the cute/funky cover of Mothership? Nothing, I tell you, nothing at all. I hate when they mess with a good thing. Ugh. Ugh. Ugh.

mothership stranger thing

7. Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray. Speaking of messing with a good thing…who in their right mind thought that this was a good idea? The cover of The Diviners is so cool. I love it and I am going to be super peeved when my hardcovers do not match! Hate it.

diviners lair of dreams

8. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. It’s not the worst ever, but it’s not my favorite. I love the font type and I think the second and third covers are better, but I am just now a fan of that blue feathered mask.

daughter of smoke days of blood dreams of gods and monsters

9. Mostly Good Girls by Leila Sales. Again, it’s not horrible, but I would like to call a do-over!

mostly good girls

10. Perfect Chemistry series by Simone Elkeles. Oh, man, are these cheesy. There are definitely steamy scenes in the books, but they don’t translate well to models on covers.

perfect chemistry rules of attraction chain reaction

It is so sad when bad covers happen to great books.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Covers I Want to Redesign 11/12/13

  1. Some really great picks! I really didn’t like that cover for The Daughter of Smoke and Bone either, think I’m one of the few who like the UK cover with a bright red door on it. I haven’t read the book yet though and sometimes that can changed your opinion, if you don’t think the cover matches the story.

    The Perfect Chemistry books made my list as well, those covers just don’t work. What is with all the people kissing in the rain? Great list. My TTT.

  2. Yes, don’t judge Jodi Meadows or Brigid Kemmerer by their covers! They both have incredibly good fantasy series. The covers make me sad! OMG, I never noticed the guy on the cover of PAPER DOLL, either! Wow. I didn’t realize they so completely changed the covers for The Diviners Series. Wow, what a difference! I prefer the first myself! I said the same thing about Laini Taylor on someone else’s blog today. The first one is my least favorite of the three. The second and third are much fiercer and fit with the gritty font! What I hate most about those Perfect Chemistry covers is that Katie McGarry’s covers try too hard to emulate them! Plus, they make the books seem steamier than they ARE.

  3. Agreed. The new cover for The Diviners series is horrible. :/

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics-6/23/15 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

