Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Would Recommend to Adults Wanting to Read YA

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and the Bookish asked us to make personalized lists for a particular type of reader (Reader X). Well, given that I am the Teen Librarian who also tries to sneak my books into the hands of adult readers, when I solved for X I realized X=Adult who want to read/read more YA, but don’t know where to start. And that is how a librarian does math ๐Ÿ˜‰

1. Revolutionย by Jennifer Donnelly. Adult readers may already be familiar with Donnelly’s Rose series or A Northern Light, so this shouldn’t be a difficult sell. It’s historical fiction…with a fun little twist. This is the book that made me realize that I do in fact like historical fiction. I also realized that I knew nothing about the French Revolution.

revolution

2. The Cardturner by Louis Sachar. I used this book for a intergenerational book discussion. It’s a book about bridge. Seriously. Sort of. It’s a touching story about teenaged boy and his elderly uncle. I have given this to a few adult readers with great success.

cardturner

3. The Diviners by Libba Bray. This book is for the reader who likes a touch of supernatural horror in their historical fiction! I have made all of my friends read it (my friends are all adults) and everyone seems to like it, though some were not as terrified as I was. Proving once again, that I am a giant baby.

diviners

4. Leviathanย by Scott Westerfeld. Hmm. There seems to be a historical fiction theme here. Maybe I am on to something…anyway. I gave this to an adult patron. He loved it so much that he told his adult son and his golf buddy. He finished the series and listened to the audiobooks. He’s a regular here and sometimes if he can’t find something new that strikes his fancy, he grabs one of these books. I also gave this book to my uncle, a high school history teacher, and my cousin. This is a sure bet. I promise.

leviathan

5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I am not even finished with this and I know I will be recommend it left and right! Give this to the “new adult” or the parent of a teen heading off to college. I would also give it to an adult who is feeling nostalgic about Harry Potter.

fangirl

6. I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. The Book Thief is a popular book among readers young and young at heart and it’s fame has only increased with the recent film release. Take advantage of the name recognition and put I am the Messenger in the hands of your adult readers! Zusak wrote New Adult before it was even a thing! Ed Kennedy is an unforgettable character.

messenger

7. The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness. This science fiction series is dark and disturbing and Ness doesn’t take any easy ways out. It’s not pretty, but it is riveting!

knife of neve

8. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. No zombie lover should miss this series! Give this to your Walking Dead fans looking for more zombie action. I guarantee they will be surprised by what they discover between the pages.

forest of hands and teeth original

9. Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride. Give this to fans of Sookie Stackhouse. Lots of bizarre paranormal action and wickedly dark humor.

hold me closer 2

10. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. Give this to adults skeptical of teen paranormal romance. Definitive proof that it’s not all swoony vampires and werewolves. Chimera anyone?

daughter of smokeHappy Reading!

หœMegan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Would Recommend to Adults Wanting to Read YA

  1. Oh, fun list! I’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Leviathan, and the Diviners (you’re definitely not the only baby… it terrified me!) And I have Fangirl checked out right now, waiting for me to read it.

  2. Nice list! Bunch of those I really enjoyed myself. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think I’ll ever grow tired of ya fiction.

  3. LOVED Fangirl!! And The Diviners! Both are definitely ones I would recommend to friends that aren’t sure about YA. And something John Green. I would definitely give them one of those.

    My TTT

  4. Great list! I’m middle-aged but usually enjoy the YA titles that I try so i honestly appreciate the suggestions – I’ve already read Carrie Ryan and Laini Taylor, and I own The Knife of Never Letting Go, so maybe that’ll be next? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Love your list! Filled with great authors, especially Carrie Ryan, Rainbow Rowell, and Patrick Ness!
    Our topic this week was books for dudes! Check it out!

  6. Such a great list! I’ve been trying to wait to read Diviners until the second book is out so I’m not clamoring for it for months, lol.

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics-6/23/15 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

