Top Ten Tuesday-Top New-to-Me Authors of 2013 12/17/13

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and The Bookish want to hear all about our 2013 new-to me author discoveries. While I did make a huge effort to finish series, I made a number of great author discoveries as well.

1. Brandon Sanderson has apparently written a gazillion and one books. Epic fantasies. I am going to have to clear my schedule and get busy, because after reading Steelheart, I am a fan!

steelheart

2. Rainbow Rowell is definitely the IT Girl of 2013. I hopped on that bandwagon over the summer and haven’t looked back! I still have to read her debut and I am excited about her next book. Fangirl was a 2013 favorite!

eleanor fangirl

3. Trish Doller’s debut, Something Like Normal was incredibly well received. But did I read it? Nope. I added it to my TBR list after reading Where the Stars Still Shine.

where the stars still shine

4. Cat Winters is a 2013 debut novelist, so technically she’s new to everyone. I loved In the Shadow of  Blackbirds and can’t wait for her next book. One of my favorite discoveries of 2013!

shadow of the blackbirds

5. Michelle Hodkin has been on my radar since her debut, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer came out in 2011. For some reason this book kept getting pushed to the bottom of the list. Well, this week I moved it to the top. I am not finished yet, but I am really liking it.

unbecoming

6. Kirsten Miller is the author of the Kiki Strike series, which I have never read. But, How to Lead a Life of Crime was totally bad*ss and I am excited for more. While I wait, maybe I should pick up some Kiki?

life of crime

7. Mike Mullen is the author of the Ashfall series, about the aftermath of the eruption of a super volcano. First of all, it could happen. Seriously. Any day now…scientists just said so yesterday. So there’s that. Now I am all freaked out and can’t remember my second of all point. But rest assured it was a good one.

ashfall2

8. Jennifer Lynne Barnes as written a number of books, and to be perfectly honest, they haven’t really appealed to me. However, I just read her newest book, The Naturals, and I am hooked. I may not go back and read all of her previous books, but I will be watching for new stuff.

My 9 & 10 spot are for some local ladies. Ok, localish. We live in the same state! I have met them both. That’s local enough for me.

Colleen Clayton is the author of What Happens Next, a powerful story about a girl coping with the aftermath of a sexual assault. I really loved this book and Colleen was so generous with her time and did a program for me at my library. I am big fan and hope she has a new book soon!

what happens next

And last, but not least is Mindee Arnett. Her debut novel, The Nightmare Affair, came out this year, but 2014 is shaping up to be stellar. I can looking forward to The Nightmare Dilemma and I am super excited about the start of her new series, Avalon. They had me at Firefly.

nightmare affair avalon

I think I made some great discoveries. Who should I read next?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Top New-to-Me Authors of 2013 12/17/13

  1. Rainbow Rowell really is the IT of 2013. I’ve read all three of her books and loved them all. E&P is probably my favorite, although Fangirl was very close behind. And Attachments was great, too.

    I’ve heard great things about Brandon Sanderson. I really need to read something of his.

  2. Great list! I loved Ashfall and Eleanor & Park, although I’m yet to read Ashen Winter, Fangirl & Attachments, but I’m really looking forward to 🙂

    And I’m glad you loved Steelheart. I’ve wanted to try Brandon Sanderson’s books for years, but I never seem to get around to them…

  3. I love Sanderson, im reading him right now, he is a master of suspense and action scenes! The Naturals kinda reminded me of Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris, i enjoyed it well enough but it was not my first encounter with the author (every other day was first – not the greatest impression!)
    I love your list!
    -Boyanna-
    Our TTT

  4. YES! Mindee Arnett! I read The Nightmare Affair this year and I am so excited for the next one in that series! And Avalon! IT LOOKS SO GOOD! Definitely dying to read it! She is really a fantastic author!
    Glad that you’ve discovered some great new authors!
    My TTT

  5. I feel like Rainbow Rowell is on EVERYBODY’S list.
    I read Trish Dolller’s debut, Something Like Normal, and I thought it was alright, but it was a small book with a big story. I just think it wasn’t long enough, which is rarely my reaction to contemporary books. But I added Where the Stars Still Shine to my TBR anyway, and I put on hold at my local library.
    Check out my TTT: http://awesomemonica.blogspot.com/2013/12/top-ten-new-to-me-authors-i-read-in-2013.html

  6. LOL, I read about the supervolcano yesterday and freaked out because of Ashfall! Loved that book, can’t wait for #3. I’ve heard such good things about In The Shadow of Blackbirds. And I think Rainbow Rowell is the queen of this week’s top 10 lists! Great list!

  7. I started the Mistborn series a while back but then exams got in the way, Brandon Sanderson is brilliant and Steelheart is currently on my wishlist though I’m so very tempted to purchase it. I love disaster movies yet I’ve yet to read a book about one so Mike Mullen is an author I’d love to check out next year. Great list! 🙂

  8. Awesome list! Rowell also made mine with Eleanor & Park! I must get my hands on Fangirl next! I’m so surprised to see Kirsten Miller on here! She almost made mine with How to Lead a Life of Crime as well! I just didn’t know how to describe the awesomeness that is that book, so I didn’t include it. BUT it is STELLAR! Oh, you made me curious about Brandon Sanderson and Mindee Arnett. Off to put more books on my TBR! 🙂

    Marlene @ The Flyleaf Review
    My TTT

  9. I loved Ashfall! And it was so freaky. He would have been on my list, but I read him in 2012. I got to meet Mike Mullin at ALA-very nice guy! I have to go back to Ashen Winter myself. I was getting too worked up about the characters and had to step back.
    Also-agreed that Rainbow rocked 2013. If you haven’t read Attachments, you should get on that ASAP!

Leave a Reply

