Mondays with Megan-Farewell, 2013!

This is it, friends. The final Monday of 2013. Overall, I had an excellent reading year. I feel like I branched out more and discovered some fantastic books. I challenged myself to try books that did not necessarily sound like my cup of tea. Again, many great surprises there. Here are just a few of my favorite surprises from 2013:

steelheart power of habit at home in darkness caleb jellicoe road

It turns out that I DO like nonfiction. I DO like historical fiction. And everyone who *loves* Jellicoe Road is right; it IS amazing.

As of right this minute I still have 2 books to finish in order to make my 200 books goal. This is not a problem! Let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts to see what everyone else is reading!

mondayreading new monday

Finished:

boston jacky drink slay love all-girl filling station

I adore Jacky Faber and this latest adventure did not disappoint. This latest installment, Boston Jacky, finds Miss Faber back on familiar turf and of course, back in a spot of trouble. I also finished Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst. This was recommended to me by a teen reader, and she did not lead me astray. This was a fun, clever book with plenty of snark I LOVE snark), vampires, and even a unicorn. Finally, I listened to The All-Girl Filling Station’s Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg. This was a perfect feel-good listen for the busy end of the year. Southern charm and WWII history meet in this latest offering from Flagg.

Current Audio:

bzrk reloaded fall of five

My listening is all about sequels!

Currently Reading:

breath of frost sweet tooth 52

I am still working on A Breath of Frost. It’s really long! At the half-way mark things are starting to pick up. I am also going to start the fifth volume of the Sweet Tooth series by Jeff Lemire. I am excited to see how things end. I expect to get more answers and have things all set up for a big finale. Finally, I am skimming my way through 52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You by Brett Blumenthal.

On Deck:

stranger thing coal elf

I am really excited to start A Stranger Thing, the sequel to Mothership, by Martin Leicht. I am also going to give The Coal Elf by Maria DeVivo a shot. This came recommended by a teen reader and in the spirit of trying new things I loaded it onto my Nook.

Happy New Year!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Farewell, 2013!

  1. A unicorn in Drink, Slay, Love… get out! I have to read it now. I like a little bit of snark with my vampires too. I love Fannie Flag and haven’t read the one you share here, so that will have to go on my list too. Thanks!

  2. I’m impressed with this 200 book goal as it seems all are novels. Yes? I’m a few hundred pages away from finishing my 100th novel! But have read 650+ books overall. Lots of PBs, and NF PBs Okay – I was wavering about reading Jellicoe Road but putting it back on my TBR list! 🙂 Happy Reading for 2014!

  3. I agree with Carrie, you have reached a huge goal. I think I should count my novels, but didn’t arrange them that way, only where I thought they fit. I definitely will look for Jellicoe Road & have The Power of Habit but still haven’t read it. Love Bill Bryson, will look for this, too. Thanks for all you shared! Happy New Year!

  4. Sweet Tooth caught my eye. In Darkness is definitely on my to-be-read list in 2014. Thanks for sharing all this. Good luck on reading 2 more books to make your 200 list! 🙂

  5. Caleb’s Crossing is on my bookshelf and I’m excited to read it. I’m glad to know that you loved it!

  6. I read both Steelheart and At Home this year, and I loved them, as well! Bryson’s The Mother Tongue is also wonderful, if you want to look more into his writing.

Leave a Reply

