Mondays with Megan-Baby, It’s Cold Outside! 1/6/14

There is no use fighting with Mother Nature. It’s freaking freezing cold out. And getting colder. And then it will be over and we can get back to our regularly scheduled winter. In the mean time, all we can do is wait it out. I am fortunate enough to be able to wait it out at home with my nephews, who are home from school. Kids are so lucky. We did some yoga, made french toast for breakfast, and now are all snuggled up watching some TV. I plan to read for a while at some point. Though I sense Cabin Fever is already setting in. I could be in for a long day…Back to the task at hand. My 2014 reading is off to a great start.

mondayreading new monday

Be sure to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great lists!

Finished:

bzrk reloaded sweet tooth wild game attachments

I can’t believe it took me so long to get to the second BZRK book, BZRK Reloaded by Michael Grant. The battle for humanity is being fought at the nano level. This series raises fascinating ethical questions. If you have the power to alter the brains of humans to make them “better,” should you? Also, it is so creepy! I loved it and am ready for more. I also finished the Sweet Tooth series by Jeff Lemire. We finally learn what the heck is going on with all the hybrid babies and the answer, while satisfying, was surprising. If you need something to read while waiting for a new Walking Dead, give this one a try! Finally, I finished by first book of 2014, Attachments, by Rainbow Rowell. After reading eleanor & park and Fangirl, I just had to go back to the beginning and pick up her debut novel. I was not disappointed. It was clever and funny and sweet. I read it in two days. I can’t wait for more Rainbow Rowell in 2014!

Current Audio:

shadow and bone fall of five

In my car I have started Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I have been listening to The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore when I walk the dogs. I don’t know what it is about this series. It’s so compelling that I am completely willing to overlook the flaws. I really need know how things end, though I suspect I will have to wait a while for that. Book 5 (out of how many?) comes out this summer. Sigh.

Currently Reading:

stranger thing breath of frost

This week I plan to finish A Stranger Thing, the sequel to Mothership by Martin Leicht. I will also finish (I swear!) A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey

On Deck:

eye coal elf small town sinners

How are you staying warm?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Baby, It’s Cold Outside! 1/6/14

  1. Shadow and Bone is amazing – I’ll bet it is FANTASTIC on audio. I read Attachments over the summer and I loved it so much. It reminded me a little of Friends, but in a newspaper office setting. Cannot wait for Landline.

  2. Looks like some great reading. A Breath of Frost seems appropriate for the day. I don’t plan to open the door today, but tomorrow I’ll have to get out and shovel snow.

  3. It’s -4 here 😦 Blech. HATE the cold. But it looks like 2014 is off to a great start! 🙂 Happy Reading This Week!! The Brunette Librarian’s Blog

  4. It is cold out – record lows in Minnesota today. Happy reading – stay warm!

  5. I am crossing my fingers that I get to read more Rainbow Rowell this year. I have a feeling her novels would resonate with my 12 year old who has an ancient soul. I am particularly fascinated by the Sweet Tooth series that you have just shared here, the illustrations are so visually arresting. I have to be on the lookout for that one. Have a great reading week, and stay snug amidst the cold! 🙂

Leave a Reply

