Top Ten Tuesday-2014 Bookish Resolutions 1/7/14

toptentuesday

In the spirit of the new year and new beginnings and new resolutions, The Broke and the Bookish are asking for out 2014 Bookish Resolutions. I’ve got plenty.

1. Match my 2013 Goodreads Challenge of 200 books. I was finishing my 200th book of 2013 at 7pm on December 31! So, 200 books read/listened to in 2014!

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Megan has
read 2 books toward her goal of 200 books.
hide

 

 

2. Participate in the Random Reads meme, hosted by I’m Loving Books. The idea is to use a random number generator to select a book that has been languishing on your TBR list. I love this idea!

random reads

3. Write more book reviews. Seriously. I totally dropped the ball on this one in 2013.

4. Read books recommended by my book club students. I am always picking books for them, so I decided to see what they would pick for me. I will have them pick a title for me each month and I will report back at our next meeting. For February I am reading The Eye of Minds by James Dashner.

eye

5.  A-Z Authors. I decided to make my 2014 books page here as an A-Z authors list. Kind of random, but it’s something different.

6. Pay more attention to my NetGalley books. See #3. The new rule is request, read, review. Repeat. No more request, request, request….

7. Stop reading if I don’t like it. This was a resolution a couple of years ago and I love it! There are so many awesome books out there and I no longer feel the need to waste my time on ones that aren’t.

8. Continue to read outside my comfort zone. I would like to read a variety of genres each month. Last year I read a ton of fantastic nonfiction and I really want to keep that up. I need to work on reading more teen mysteries and teen historical fiction.

9. Read from the Youth Media Awards list. I am not sure how many I read last year. This year I will keep track!

10. Read 2014 Debuts. Last year I read 19 2013 debuts. Hopefully I can do just as well this year. I need to find myself a list!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-2014 Bookish Resolutions 1/7/14

  1. I am going to try and make a dent in my Net Galley books as well. 🙂
    You mentioned 2014 debuts. I really don’t know many. And then you mentioned a possible list?
    Here’s my Top 10 if you want to take a look.

  2. Awesome goals!
    I hope you complete every single one ❤
    Good luck!
    Here's Our TTT
    Doris @ OABR

  3. Good luck on 200 books! That’s so great that you met your goal last year. The Random Reads things is such a cool idea. I may have to try that. 🙂

  4. Brilliant goals 🙂 I think it’s brilliant that you met your Goodreads goal last year. I’m trying to keep on top of my NetGalley books too. I hope you reach your goals.

  5. Yes, I agree completely about stop reading a book if I’m not feeling it. Like you said, there are so many books out there, and my TBR list is ridiculously long. I don’t want to waste my time with a book that I’m not feeling. I’m also trying to read outside my comfort zone more. Even if I only read 3-5 books in a year, I would be happy. Good luck with all your goals!

  6. Random Reads is a great idea–if I only had my TBR list organized in one lists, instead of six or so.

    I finally managed to learn to let go of books, too. (Mostly.) You’re right, there’s too many books out there to waste time on the ones you don’t like!

  7. WOW 200 books is a lot! I wish I could read that many — I don’t think I would have time to blog if I read that many in a year. I can’t really blame you for not writing reviews for them all 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

  8. Oh wow, 200 books! I scrambled to hit 100 last year, so I’m sticking with that goal. Good luck with all of your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

