Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst Review

Towards the end of last year I started brainstorming some new ideas for my blog. One of the things I came up with was letting my teen readers pick books for me. It seemed like a fair thing considering fact that I select about 90% of the books my two teen book clubs read. I ran the idea by my high schoolers and they loved it. Their first wicked thought was “what horrible book can we force her to read.” I kindly reminded them that I still picked their books and they quickly changed their tune! I picked one title out of a bowl for my first official Teen’s Choice book. This month I will be reading The Eyes of Minds by James Dashner, but it is currently checked out, so I secretly picked another one of their recommendations to read while I waited. That book was Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst. Here is a quick summary and review for you:

Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst
Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2011
Hardcover, 385 pages

drink slay love

What it’s about:

Pearl is your typical sixteen-year-old vampire. You know the type-a bloodthirsty predator of the night. That is, until she is stabbed through the heart by the horn of a sparkly unicorn. Seriously. A unicorn. Of course, no one in her Family (yes, with a capital F) believes her. It’s surprising that she survives the attack. It’s a complete shock to discover that she can survive exposure to the sun. This discovery comes just in time. The Family is responsible for providing a feast for the Vampire King of New England and Pearl is their meal ticket. They ship her off to high school with one assignment: round up a feast fit for a king!

Why you might want to read it:

I thoroughly enjoyed this snarky little book! I loved watching Pearl learn the ins and outs of high school and I totally appreciated all the John Hughes references. Her observations about social hierarchy are spot-on. While the book is mostly light and humorous, there is some meat to it as Pearl questions the ethics of what happened to her. It’s pretty interesting. This was an unexpected gem. If you need a vampire fix, this book is for you. If you like a sassy heroine, this book is for you. If you like your high school romances to have a unicorn, this book  is for you.

Want more like this? Try Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins, Paranormalcy by Kiersten White and Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride.

Thank you Emily, for the recommendation!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

4 responses to “Drink, Slay, Love by Sarah Beth Durst Review

  1. I’ve seen this book around a lot, not so much anymore, but a few months back. The cover looks interesting, and there have been many amazing reviews. I loved Hex Hall, so I might just have to pick this one up!

    Lisa
    http://www.turningpages94.blogspot.com

  2. Pingback: Random Reads February 2014 | YA? Why Not?

  3. Pingback: Firebug by Lish McBride Review 9/25/14 | YA? Why Not?

  4. Pingback: Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen Review 10/14/14 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

