Mondays with Megan 1/20/14

Good morning dear readers! I am so excited to finally be able to say I saw Catching Fire! I loved it, just as I loved the book and I found myself reconsidering my dissatisfaction with Mockingjay. I think the movies have made Katniss a more sympathetic and likeable character than she was in the books. I might have to reread the last book. I may even change my mind about it. Hm. Saturday I proctored a practice ACT test at the library, giving me over three hours of reading time. For the record, this is a luxury and novelty because, contrary to popular belief, librarians do not actually get to sit around and get paid to read all day! And in an attempt to avoid putting away Christmas stuff (I really did try, but only got as far as restoring my Norfolk pine to its original houseplant status), I spent Sunday leisurely wandering around town and eventually ending up at the coffee shop. Shocking, I know. My point in all of this is that I had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and got a ton of reading done! Just in time for my favorite Monday morning check-in:

mondayreading new monday

Be sure to stop by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great lists.

Finished:

shadow hero small town sinners fables snow white eye marie

  • The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang is a graphic novel that will be out later this year and tells the story of the first Chinese superhero. I really enjoyed this one and will hopefully have a full review at some point.
  • Small Town Sinners by Melissa Walker was my Random Reads pick for January. I will have a review up this week. It was not my favorite.
  • Fables vol. 19: Snow White by Bill Willingham broke my heart a little bit. Also, the Oz bits totally got me in the mood for all the Oz retellings coming out soon.
  • The Eye of the Minds by James Dashner was recommended by a teen reader. I will have a review ready soon, but I will say that I couldn’t help thinking about what Michael Grant would have done with this idea (and kind of wishing he had been the one to write it).
  • Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender has been sitting on my shelf for ages and it was just time to read it or return it. I read it and enjoyed it. It did not get great reviews on Goodreads. I get it, it’s flawed. But it was still a quick, fun read with plenty of mean-girl attitude, a cute French boy romance, Paris, and a vengeful ghost lopping off heads!

Current Audio:

interestings sabriel

I am still working on The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer. This one is really growing on me. I am also about half way through Sabriel by Garth Nix. This one is *not* growing on me like I thought it would. We’ll see what the second half has to offer.

Current Reads:

better off friends roomies

It seems weird to only have two books going…maybe I should start something else!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

2 responses to “Mondays with Megan 1/20/14

  1. You already read the Shadow Hero! I’m jealous. I need to catch up on Fables too.. I didn’t read as much this past week, but hoping to catch up since I’m off today.

    The Monster Report

  2. It seems weird to me that you have two books on the go – let alone wanting more! Multitasking when it comes to books is not my forte.
    Happy Reading!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

