Top Ten Tuesdays-Worlds I’d Never Want to Live In 1/28/14

toptentuesday

I am pretty sure at one time or another many of us have wished we could live at Hogwarts (or in a little house on a prairie if you’re like me), but how often do we think about places we would not want to live? Well, that is exactly what The Broke and the Bookish want to know!

1. Chicago of the future! Bad, bad things are happening here. No thanks!

divergent steelheart

2. Any place that Michael Grant makes up. Seriously. Whether it’s in a dome with a bunch of psychos or out in the real world with nano technology scurrying around in my brain, his worlds are not for me.

gone bzrk

3. Post-super-volcano USA. Thank you Mike Mullin for scare. And thanks to the scientists who recently confirmed that this could some day be a reality. It’s a wonder I sleep at night!

ashfall2 ashenwinter

4. Prentisstown. Nope. No way. That place is run by a lunatic, and things don’t go well for the ladies when he is around.

knife of neve ask and answer monsters of men

5. During the Flu pandemic. 1918 was not a good year! War, flu…nope. I want none of that.

shadow of the blackbirds

6. In the Belly of the Bloodhound! I remember learning about slave ships in school. I can’t even begin to imagine the horror. I do love Jacky Faber, though.

bloodhound

7. The Dust Lands. The name alone is uninviting. I hate the heat. Give me snow days any time.

blood red road rebel heart

8. Any virtual reality world. I haven’t come across one yet that is all fun and games. Something very horrible always happens.

ready eye

9. Puritan times. I am really, I might be drowned as a witch! It didn’t take much in those days…Those folks were no joke.

wicked girls heretics daughter

10. Any place haunted. I think this is pretty self explanatory

diviners anna dressed in blood bad girls don't die name of the star

diviners, anna dressed in blood…

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesdays-Worlds I’d Never Want to Live In 1/28/14

  1. I have only read like one of those books..lol. I skipped this weeks top ten because I don’t read a lot of books that I could think of that had horrible worlds except for The Fever series…I wouldn’t want to live there as evil over takes the place..ugh..only good thing in that world is Barrons…LOL. 🙂

  2. Perfect list! I totally agree with you and had a few of the same ones. I wish I had thought about Puritan and 1918. Both are terrible sounding!! Here is my list: http://www.rexrobotreviews.com/2014/01/top-ten-tuesday-worlds-id-never-want-to.html

  3. I read Bubble World by Carol Snow recently and I would say that the virtual reality world in that book doesn’t scare me, but it seems perfectly boring. It did make the character happy though, so I guess that’s good.

  4. This is a great list. The Divergent series and the Chaos Walking series both made my list too. I forgot about Dust Lands. I agree that world would not be a good one to live in.

  5. I did not put the whole Chicago thing together! Good call – bad news bears!

  6. I love, love, love ghost stories, but oh my gosh, if I was ever in a haunted place I so would not handle it well. Oh and seriously, no to any super futuristic society. No thank you.

  7. Virtual reality words would be terrible! I haven’t read any books set in those worlds but nothing good can come of them, I’m sure.

    Mine is here.

  8. Oh my goodness, I would hate living in the Puritan times too, I think. So much presumption about witches.

    This world isn’t perfect, but I’m fairly happy where I am.

Leave a Reply

