Random Reads February 2014, Vicious

random reads

It is already time for a new Random Reads, hosted by I’m Loving Books! January just seemed to fly by and yet I managed to get a ton of reading and listening done, including my first ever Random Reads pick, Small Town Sinners by Melissa Walker. Random.org decided that in February I should read book #31 on my TBR list, Vicious by Victoria Schwab. I added this one to the list on September 20, 2012.

vicious

From Goodreads:

“A masterful, twisted tale of ambition, jealousy, betrayal, and superpowers, set in a near-future world.

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong.

Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?”

And just because I am a big nerd, here is my January in review:
Total Books: 19
Read: 15
Listened: 4

Favorites: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo and Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg

Review Written: 4
Drink, Slay, Love
Small Town Sinners
Breath of Frost
The Eye of Minds

Teen Programs:
Princeton Review ACT Prep Class
Princeton Review ACT Practice Test
Dungeons & Dragons Club
Sylvan Study Skills Class

Movies Seen: (I hardly ever see movies and this month I went to two!)
Frozen
Catching Fire

Despite being ridiculously cold, January was pretty great!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Random Reads February 2014, Vicious

  1. I have heard nothing but good things about this one so I think you’ll love it. Iv’e been dreaming of buying it for a while now but keep forgetting. Let us all know what you think!

  2. No wonder you want to read it–sounds intriguing!

  3. Congrats! I read A LOT[about 30 novels and novellas], but managed to write only 4 reviews…
    Frozen and Catching fire! Lovely movies, I love the soundtrack from both of them 😀

    Mine

  4. Vicious is on my to-read list as well…hopefully soon I will get a chance to read it! 🙂 I hope you enjoy it!

  5. I’ve heard lots of amazing things about Vicious. Hope you love it!! Oh, and I loved both Frozen and Catching Fire!!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

  6. I’ve been wanting to read Vicious, looks so good!

Leave a Reply

