Mondays With Megan 2/3/14

Good Morning! Everyone recovered from the Big Game? I don’t know about you, but I actually watched more of the Puppy Bowl than the actual Superbowl. I am not much of a football fan, so I didn’t have any hopes and dreams dashed last night. And if the rest of the winter is like the past few days (above freezing and sunny here in Cleveland!), then I am a-ok with the giant rodent’s predictions. I am not even close to being prepared to do yard work. I am enjoying the blanket of snow that is hiding all of my half-started projects. Besides, this is reading weather! Not that I really did much reading last week…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading new monday

Be sure to check out more lists at Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

not a drop to drink hyperbole

  • Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis is a disturbing look at a world without an abundance of fresh water. I really enjoyed this debut novel from a fellow Ohioan.
  • Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh offers a painful, but sometimes hilarious glimpse into the world of depression. This book is composed of materials previously published on the author’s blog, Hyperbole and a Half as well as new material. The stories about the dogs was my favorite and left me in tears (my own dogs now know for a fact that I am insane).

Current Audio:

lost lake half brother

I just love Sarah Addison Allen’s books, and her newest, Lost Lake is just as dreamy and charming as I expected it to be. I will finish this one this week. On Playaway I have Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel. The dogs and I are all thrilled to have warmer temperatures so we can get back into our walking (and listening) routines. I think Half Brother will make an excellent addition to my book club reading list!

Currently Reading:

avalon fairest in all the land broken hearts

On Deck:

the dead in their vaulted arches

My next audiobook is definitely the new Flavia book! As for print books, I am not sure what will be next.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan 2/3/14

  1. Brosh’s drawings of Simple Dog and Helper Dog also have me crying with laughter. The symbols Simple Dog thinks in, Helper Dog sliding across the floor in her dog booties, Simple Dog “making food” when she throws up… SO funny. Aren’t the Flavia books wonderful on audio? I don’t typically read mysteries, but they are brilliantly narrated!

  2. Happy Monday, hope you’re enjoying all your reads.

    Here’s our IMWAYR
    Doris @ OABR

  3. I saw some students reading Hyperbole and a Half-middle school age-& they said it was good. Will need to check it out. Thanks for sharing about the audio books, too-both sound good! Enjoy the reading time!

  4. I like the Hyperbole & a Half blog, and I bet the book is great too. Not a drop to Drink is on my radar too, since I’ve heard it’s really good.

  5. Hi, the water book sounds so scary. Thanks for sharing your lists. Hope you will check out my linkup.

  6. The Dead and their vaulted arches caught my eye. Looks really interesting. Thanks for sharing all this. Have a great reading week!

Leave a comment