Top Ten Tuesday-Books That Will Make You Cry 2/4/14

toptentuesday

It’s Tuesday, which means it is time for another Top Ten Tuesday list, hosted by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is books that will make you cry. True confession time: I apparently have a heart of stone because I really struggled with this one and in the end accepted that I am not a crier and stopped trying to come up with ten titles. Another possible theory is that I *am* a big crier and therefore intentionally stay away from books that will make me cry. I like that theory. Let’s go with that.

1. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. This book full of raw grief, heartache, hope, humor, romance, and healing. Me=big, blubbering mess.

skyiseverywhere

2. Where She Went by Gayle Forman. I don’t remember being so moved by If I Stay, but Adam’s story brought on the waterworks for me.

where she went

3. Winger Andrew Smith. I felt all the feelings! AND now I have get to feel them all over again since it has been revealed that there will be a sequel!!!

winger

4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I sat in my car in my own driveway bawling…

book thief

5. I am The Messenger by Markus Zusak. If I remember correctly, these were tears of joy. That happens sometimes.

messenger

6. The Eightly-Dollar Champion by Elizabeth Letts. This one caught me off-guard. It shouldn’t have surprised me when Snowman met his end (after living a long, long time) but the story of his passing was so touching. Yeah, I cried.

eighty dollar

7. Champion by Marie Lu. Happy tears.

champion

8. Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein. The only books I run away from faster than cancer books is Holocaust books. I broke my own rule and I paid. Go figure, 3 of my teen tear-inducers are Holocaust books.

code name verity rose under fire

9. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. This book was surprisingly beautiful.

jellicoe road

10. Pretty much anything A.S. King writes. Sometimes tears of joy, sometimes tears of heartbreak, always tears of triumph. She writes such poignant stories.

please ignore vera dietz ask everybody sees the ants reality boy

Ok, in retrospect, I guess I am actually a big cry baby. Fine. Pass the tissues, please.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books That Will Make You Cry 2/4/14

  1. The Sky is Everywhere and Winger are on my TBR ASAP pile! I need to read Champion, too. And yes, every A.S. King book. Ever.

  2. Haha. I tend to avoid tearjerkers, too. But that’s because I cry so easily when reading. Just little scenes that are sad, and I’m weeping and depressed for a week.

    Anyway, Code Name Verity definitely made me cry. I still haven’t read Rose Under Fire, but I need to. I haven’t read any of these other books (see above about the avoiding tear jerkers) but I do have Winger at home and I do want to read that.

  3. I’m kind of new to YA fandom, but will definitely keep these in mind when I need a good cry! :O)

  4. As soon as I saw today’s topic I thought to myself “anything A.S. King writes.” Also, apparently anything Elizabeth Wein rights as well. AND OF COURSE The Book Thief! Great list 🙂 even if it makes me tear up just thinking about these titles.

  5. The Book Thief is the ultimate tear jerker! I need to keep some of these others in mind next time I feel like I need a good cry

  6. I’ll be reading The Book Thief this year..

  7. i am a guy but i like a good cry at time so i will read some of these books

Leave a Reply

