Mondays with Megan-Book Hangovers and Readathons 2/17/14

According the Urban Dictionary, a book hangover is defined as the feeling you have “when you’ve finished a book and you suddenly return to the real world, but the real world feels incomplete or surreal because you’re still living in the world of the book.”

That sounds about right. Cress was awesome. Winter is going to be epic.

I am hoping that a readathon will be just the thing I need to bring me back to reality. I will be joining Novel Heartbeats and Confessions of a Bookie Monster in their Love For Books Readathon.

lfbreadathon

My goal is to finish the three books in my Currently Reading category and read at least one additional book and one additional graphic novel.

Monday 2/17
Currently reading: Broken Hearts, Fences and Other Things to Mend & Vicious
Pages read today: 95
Books completed today: 1

Tuesday 2/18
Currently reading: Jane, the Fox and Me, Vicious, Don’t Even Think About It
Pages read today: 116
Books completed today: 1

Wednesday 2/19
Currently reading: The Silver Six, Vicious, Don’t Even Think About It
Pages read today: 80
Books completed today: 0

Thursday 2/20
Currently reading: The Silver Six, Vicious, Don’t Even Think About It
Pages read today: 92
Books completed today: 0

Friday 2/21
Currently reading: The Silver Six, Vicious, Don’t Even Think About It
Pages read today: 150
Books completed today: 1

Saturday 2/22
Currently reading: The Silver Six, Vicious
Pages read today: 56
Books completed today:

Sunday 2/23
Currently reading: The Silver Six, Vicious
Pages read today: 126
Books completed today: 1

Time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for another

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading new monday

Finished:

fairest in all the land the dead in their vaulted arches cress

  • Fairest: In All The Land by Bill Willingham is a collection of short stories featuring a number of guest artists. The story stars all of the fairy tale beauties. This Fables spin-off is a standalone, but it does offer some hints about the main storyline of Fables.
  • The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley is the sixth (and final?) volume in the Flavia de Luce series. Flavia is a precocious 11-year-old with a passion for poisons. She is charming and clever and hilarious. If this is the end, I will miss her dearly, but I suspect we may not have heard the last of young Flavia. *fingers crossed* My coworker just said she heard there were going to be 10 books! I hope that is true!
  • Cress by Marissa Meyer is the third (and so far longest) book in The Lunar Chronicles series. The plot thickens, new characters are introduced, secrets are revealed and all hell breaks loose. There is a lot of romance, but this one is also a lot darker than the previous two. I loved it.

Current Audio:

this is what happy looks like stories

I made too much progress in This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith. Apparently I did not do much dog walking last week. Stupid winter is messing up my routine. On a total whim I started listening to Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography by Rob Lowe. I have been on a West Wing kick lately, so I guess it makes sense. Lowe narrates and so far I am enjoying this one.

Currently Reading:

vicious broken hearts jane

All other reading came to a halt last week as I devoted all my time to Cress. This week I intend to really start Vicious by V.E. Schwab. I am more than half way through an ARC of Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Kate Finn and I have to admit, I am not really crazy about it. Finally, I am reading Jane, the Fox and Me by Fanny Britt. The story is quite sad, but the illustrations are lovely.

On Deck:

brotherband

My middle school book club’s Teen Choice selection was The Outcast, book 1 in the Brotherband Chronicles by John Flanagan. I am excited to finally read this one!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Book Hangovers and Readathons 2/17/14

  1. I love Flanagan’s other series, but haven’t dove into the Brotherhood yet. I love the Fables series, but am a little behind. Currently reading Scarlet and cannot wait for Cress!

    What We Read

  2. I read and really liked Alan Bradley’s series. I also think this is the last but you never know. You mentioned lots of new titles for me – thanks it is always nice to see what others are reading.

  3. I’m so excited to read Cress, but I’m putting it off so I don’t have the wait for Winter!

  4. It sounds like I need to buy Cress as soon as possible. I loved Cinder and Scarlet so I know I will love this one. I love Flavia de Luce also. I hope your friend is right and there are more books to come. Have a great reading week!

  5. I’ve got to get Scarlet and Cress! I really enjoyed Cinder.

  6. Jane, the Fox, and Me is currently eyeing me from my TBR pile! Love the illustrations! My students are horrified that I haven’t read Cinder yet, so I do need to get to that soon! Have you listened to any of the Flavia deLuce books on audio? They’re brilliantly narrated!

Leave a Reply

