Monday With Megan: Need To vs Should vs Want To Read 2/24/14

Good morning friends! I am coming off a few days of time off. I really thought I would have a relaxing few days lounging around, hitting my favorite coffee shop and working on my ever-growing TBR list. Instead, I spent an amazing three days hanging out with family and friends and eating my way through Cleveland. I squeezed some reading and listening in, but nothing like I had planned. All of this got me thinking about my reading goals and expectations. It’s early in the year and I am already struggling to find a balance between the reading I need to do (books for book club, books I have requested to review), the reading I should do (new teen releases to talk up, adult titles) and the reading I want to do (apparently that would be anything but the need to and should read books!). I may have overextended myself…Anyone else have this problem? How do you juggle all of your reading? Any input would be appreciated! Ready for a list? Me too!

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts

Finished:

broken hearts this is what happy looks like jane stories dont even think about it silver six

  • Reviews of Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn and Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynoski will be coming soon. As an adult reader, I did not really enjoy either book, but they sure do have great teen appeal.
  • This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith was cute and simple and I enjoyed the easy listening while I shoveled myself out of a blizzard.
  • Jane, the Fox, and Me by Fanny Britt is a beautifully illustrated graphic novel. The story is a familiar one-mean girls, bullying, and distorted body issues.
  • Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe was surprisingly enjoyable autobiography. Lowe provides a thoughtful glimpse into the life of a young teen idol and describes all of the ups and downs of creating a successful and meaningful career as well as a satisfying private life. Lowe is charming, intelligent, and quite hilarious.
  • The Silver Six by A.J. Lieberman is a fun little sci-fi action/adventure graphic novel. Max, the robot is the best part of the entire story.

Current Audio:

cuckoos calling call the midwife

I am finally getting around to The Cuckoo’s Calling (from the should read category) and I am sticking with my autobiography theme and listening to Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth (need to read for book club).

Currently Reading:

vicious we were liars crash

I am more than half way through Vicious by V.E. Schwab. This is my Random Read for February and it is fantastic! I just downloaded an e-galley of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart and I can’t wait to dive in. Crash Into You by Katie McGarry is my current just-for-me read.

On Deck:

code name divergent brotherband house of stairs

The first two are quick rereads for book clubs and the second two are Teen’s Choices. So basically, four books I need to read. Sigh.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Monday With Megan: Need To vs Should vs Want To Read 2/24/14

  1. Wow! Lots of great books! The Rob Lowe book looks interesting! May need to read that soon!

  2. Amazing books here! I know you heard this before a thousand times, but The Cukoo’s Calling is amazing! Can’t wait for book 2 to come out in June.

  3. I think the Rob Lowe one would be interesting since I am a fan..I hope you enjoy your reads. 🙂

    Stormi
    http://www.booksmoviesreviewsohmy.com/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-73/

  4. You have amazing books there! I hope you enjoy them all!

    This is what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

  5. Lots and lots of book and unfortunately, not lots and lots of time. Sigh. But we can celebrate all of the reading we do get to do! I can’t wait to read We Were Liars!

  6. Yes! I feel your pain. I tend to schedule my “have to reads” and then fill in the gaps with my “want to reads.” Good luck with finding some balance!

  7. Jane, The Fox, and Me was a book I truly enjoyed. I do most of my reading at night, or during the weekends. I agree with you, but it’s always a good problem to have – having too many books and little time to read them, rather than the other way around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

