Random Reads March 2014 Out of the Easy and February in Review

random reads

It is already time for a new Random Reads, hosted by I’m Loving Books! Random.org decided that in February I should read book #31 on my TBR list, Vicious by Victoria Schwab. I absolutely loved it! You can read my full review of Vicious here. In March I will be reading Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. This was book # 20 on my list, added June 16, 2012.

out of the easy

From Goodreads:

“It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer.

She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street. Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test.

With characters as captivating as those in her internationally bestselling novel Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys skillfully creates a rich story of secrets, lies, and the haunting reminder that decisions can shape our destiny.”

And just because I am a big nerd, here is my February in review:
Total Books: 16 (not too shabby for a short month!)

Read: 11
Listened: 5

Favorites: It was impossible to pick this month. I had so many amazing reads!

Cress by Marissa Meyer, Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe, Vicious by V.E Schwab, and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart were all standouts for me.

Review Written: 4

Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulburg
Avalon by Mindee Arnett
Roomies by Sara Zarr
Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Teen Programs:

Teen Tech Thursdays
Dungeons & Dragons
Teen Pizza Pagers discussed Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin
High School Book Club discussed Mothership by Martin Leicht

Teen’s Choice: To read in March

The Outcasts by John Flanagan
The House of Stairs by William Sleator

2 responses to “Random Reads March 2014 Out of the Easy and February in Review

  1. Oooh, great Random Reads pick! I loved Between Shades of Gray but still haven’t picked up a copy of this one. Hope you enjoy it 🙂

    My March Random Read!

  2. Oh this looks so good! I have seen this book all over the internet and I sure hope it’s as good as it looks.
    My RR

Leave a Reply

