Mondays with Megan-Well, This Stinks…3/10/14

Hello Monday! I hope everyone had a smooth transition to daylight saving time. You know who didn’t have an easy transition? The skunk who has apparently been living under my back porch and one of my dogs! The skunk did not get the memo that the new 6:30 am is the old 5:30 am and even though it is still dark, it’s time for him to skedaddle. The dog did not get the memo to leave the skunk alone. So, not an awesome start to this week and I am pretty sure I still smell like skunk. I apologize to everyone who has to be around me. And yet, this is actually better than last week. Last week I was incapacitated with a bad back and it was not fun. The only good that came out of the whole ordeal is the obscene amount of reading I got done and my first totally awesome experience with acupuncture.

mondayreading new monday

Check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? lists.

Finished:

house of stairs outcasts evolution of mara dyer selection perfect lies

  •  House of Stairs by William Sleator was chose for me by my high school book club readers. They thought they were being clever by assigning me the worst book they have ever read. Too bad I kind of liked it! This is old-school science fiction here. Five orphans trapped in a building that is all stair cases and nothing else, except for the machine that gives them food. The machine is a fickle and demanding little thing and soon the food only comes when the starving kids complete certain tasks. I get why my teen friends did not enjoy this book, but I thought it was pretty disturbing.
  • The Outcasts by John Flanagan is the first book in The Brotherband Chronicles. This new series takes place in Skandia and stars a new cast of young men who are basically training to be sea-faring men. I miss Will and Halt, but I think I am going to enjoy Hal and Thorn just fine.
  • The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin is a 500 page book that I devoured in one sitting. What is it about this series? It is so strange and intense and utterly compelling. I really need the third book now.
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass is a book I had not intended to read, but some of my avid readers really enjoyed it, so I gave it a shot. It’s pretty fluffy, and yet, it interested me just enough that I want to know what happens next.
  • Perfect Lies by Kiersten White is the sequel to Mind Games. I really enjoyed getting to know Annie better and I loved the ending, but I struggled to keep up with the wacky timeline. I also seemed to have forgotten a lot from the first book and there was very little recapping. Still, an exciting and fast read.

Current Audio:

cuckoos calling call the midwife

I didn’t do much walking or driving, so I am still not finished with these audiobooks.

Currently Reading:

crash grave mercy

On Deck:

ring and crown across

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Well, This Stinks…3/10/14

  1. I’m currently reading The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving and For Whom The Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemmingway… This is going to be a long week.

  2. I loved Grave Mercy, hope you enjoy it as well. Have a gret week!
    Here is My It’s Monday!

  3. I recently purchased The Cuckoo’s Calling in paperback and am looking forward to reading it.
    Happy Reading!
    🙂

  4. I agree with you about the Mara Dyer books. They are so intriguing and I can’t wait for the third one coming this summer. I will be interested to hear what you think of Grave Mercy. I really liked that one. Have a great reading week!

  5. Oh my gosh, I remember House of Stairs! That was one crazy story.

  6. There are so many novels here. I loved your description of House of Stairs and how you enjoyed it. The Evolution of Mara Dyer sounds like a great book, I hope I can find it here soon. Have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

