Mondays With Megan-Top of the Morning To You! 3/17/14

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I am not a fan of parades and crowds. I prefer a more low-key celebration. Maybe a nice beverage and a good book? My all time favorite book about Ireland is Trinity by Leon Uris. This is one of the few books that I have read more than once. I am also a huge fan of Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series.

Looking for some YA books about Ireland, the Irish, and Irish-Americans? This is just a small sampling and you can find all of them here at the library.

pure swift cry bog child carrier hush riot irish guys

mondayreading new monday

Time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Text for another round of It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

call the midwife cuckoos calling grave mercy

  • Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth. Have you seen the BBC show with the same title? The television adaptation of this nurse’s memoir is spot-on. The author was a district nurse in the East End of London in the 1950s. She worked as a midwife with the sisters of Nonnatus House. Like the show, the book is both charming and heartwarming as well as dark and graphic. If you are squeamish about the details of birth and the events that lead up to and follow, this is not the book for you!
  • The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling), introduces PI, Cormoron Strike. Ex-military and down on his luck, he finds himself investigating the high-profile death of a super model. I enjoyed listening to this one and will definitely pick up the next.
  • Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers…ok, technically I have not finished this one, but I have less than 100 pages to go and if work wasn’t getting in my way, I would be devouring the end. Anyway, why did I wait so long to read this book about assassins? Political intrigue, romance, poisons, betrayal, suspense…AGH! This has it all.

Current Audio:

across immortal rules

I feel like these books have been on my TBR list forever. I am taking care of business over here! Of course, this now means I have an unmanageable number of series going…

Currently Reading:

crash ring and crown first grave

I am still working on Crash Into You by Katie McGarry. I feel no sense of urgency with this one. It’s pretty much the same as her others. The Ring & Crown by Melissa de la Cruz is a new one from Netgalley. I really haven’t had a chance to get into it yet. First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones was a total whim and was tossed aside the second I got sucked into Grave Mercy. I’ll get back it this week.

On Deck:

out of the easy locke

What are reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

2 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Top of the Morning To You! 3/17/14

  1. I like how you shared some Irish related reads for St. Patrick’s Day.
    Happy Reading!
    🙂

  2. I’ve read a lot about Ruta Sepetys, but haven’t read any of her novels yet. It would be good to know your take on her writing. The Cuckoo’s Calling is definitely on my to-read list. I hope to get to it soon. 🙂 I’m sure it’s worlds different from Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

