Top Ten Tuesday-“Gateway” Books and Random Reads April 4/1/14

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and the Bookish are asking about our Gateway Books/Authors. These are books that sparked some new interest. Maybe the lead us to a genre we never expected to love or a similar new author. Either way, this it were things all began…

1. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. This was one of the first YA Science Fiction books that I ever read. I chose it for a class while I was working on my MLIS. I loved it and have been a devoted fan ever since. With the exception of Extras, the man can do no wrong.

uglies

2. Fables: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham. My first adventures with graphic novels! Love, love, love.

fables

3. Airborn by Kenneth Oppel. This was my introduction to Steampunk.

airborn

4. Sarah Addison Allen taught me that contemporary women’s fiction can be magical.

garden spells sugar queen peach keeper lost lake

5. Song Fire and Ice by George R.R. Martin. The gateway to high fantasy. It was so far out of character for me to read these books. My love for them was quite shocking. I hardly recognize myself anymore!

game of thrones

6. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. This was the first time I was able to bond with both my mother and much younger brother (13 years separate us) over books.

harry potter7. Stephen King was my introduction to adult reading. In my mind and memories I went from Nancy Drew to Stephen King. I really have no memory of what I was reading in grades 5-7. I am pretty sure I was 11 or 12 when I started reading King. By the time I started high school I was a steady diet of Stephen King, Anne Rice, and John Irving.

it

8. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky. This was my self-prescribed intro to Russian literature and my first step towards plugging gaps in my education. Honestly, I abandoned that task ages ago. I did however, enjoy this one and a few others.

crime and punishment

9.  The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. The gateway to all things zombie. I admit that my love of zombies has waned a bit, but this will always remain my first and favorite undead book.

forest of hands and teeth original

 10. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer. This series opened so many doors for me. First, it reminded me that historical fiction can be so much fun. Second, I learned just how much the reader of an audiobook impacts the listening experience. I was new audio user and Katherine Kellgren made it all worth while. Also, this series reminded me to read more pirate books!

bloody jack

random reads

In short, Random Reads is a meme where we pick a random book from our shelf to read within the month. Feel free to do more than one per month, but since a lot of people have a lot of books to read each month, only one is “required” for the meme. I’m on Goodreads so I use my To Read list and Random.org to pick the book I’m going to read.

Last month’s Random Read was Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. I LOVED it! Be sure to check out my review!

In April I will be reading #15 on my TBR list: The Traitor in the Tunnel (The Agency #3) by Y.S. Lee. I added this to the list on September 3, 2011. It’s time to get caught up with this charming YA Victorian-era mystery series, especially since I think there is a new one coming out this year!

traitor in the tunnel

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-“Gateway” Books and Random Reads April 4/1/14

  1. I love Sarah Addison Allen’s books! Garden Spells has to be my favorite that I have read so far. Lost Lake is on my TBR list.

  2. Uglies was one of my first modern YA books — so many great books in that genre these days!

  3. I loved reading The Agency! Now I need to read books two and three which have been on my TBR list for a while.

  4. Harry Potter is great for connecting readers across generations and large age gaps. Truly magical.

  5. #5 Me too. Who am I?!

  6. Great list! I’m going to have to pick up one of the Fables books. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about them and I’m so intrigued. I’ve never read Sarah Addison Allen’s books but the covers…. and the titles…. Cannot resist!

  7. I’ve yet to read a Stephen King novel! I know, I know… (Which book would you recommend for a newbie?)

    I’ve got Uglies sitting on my TBR pile. I recently scored a deeply discounted copy, so I went for it. People have been telling me it’s good; I hope I enjoy it!

    • I really enjoyed Stephen King’s recent books, Joyland and 11/22/63. Both are a huge departure from the pure horror he is known for. I remember loving The Stand and It as well.

  8. I loved the Agency series! I also was introduced to steampunk through Airborn. It’s definitely time for me to reread that book.
    Nice post!

  9. Hope you enjoy this one as much as last month’s!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

  10. The Agency sounds like a good series. I like the Victorian era, so I will have to check those out. I hope you enjoy your Random Read!

Leave a Reply

