Top Ten Tuesday-Unique Reads 4/8/14

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and the Bookish are talking about unique reads. Get ready to see some awesome lists filled with strange worlds, great characters, interesting writing styles, and plain-old weirdness. Here are my picks:

1. Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. This tops the list not because it is my favorite, but because I just read it and it is so totally bizarre. The world ends with giant praying mantises eating their way through the human population. This account of the end is told by a sexually confused teenaged boy.

grasshopper jungle

2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor remains the only series I have ever read that features chimera. I love it.

daughter of smoke

3. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan is a zombie book that never uses the word zombie. This is still my favorite zombie series.

forest of hands and teeth

4. Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride makes necromancy look fun! It is dark and absolutely hilarious.

necromancer

5. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley is one of the weirdest books I have ever read. It’s like the British X-Files/secret society stuff. Plus monsters. And conspiracies. It’s just so strange. There is a sequel in the works, but no firm details. *sigh*

rook

6. BZRK by Michael Grant. This series scares the bejeezus out of me. Nanotechnology. Tiny little nanobots eating your brain. I hate love it so bad.

bzrk

7. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson. Welcome to a world of super villains. Without super heroes. It’s up to ordinary humans to save humankind. This book is all sorts of bad*@s. Love, love, love.

steelheart

8. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld features an alternate reality WWI that was fought between the Darwinists and the Clankers. I love the fabricated beasties and the steampunk.

leviathan

9. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer puts a futuristic twist on classic fairy tales. Cinderella the cyborg? Heck yeah!

cinder

10. Mothership by Martin Leicht is Teen Mom + 80’s pop culture + aliens=total nonsense! Laugh out loud fun!

mothership

Honorable Mentions:

  • Any thing by A.S. King. She always slips in a touch of the unusual in her contemporary fiction. Whether it’s ghosts and a talking pagoda or bringing things out of dreams and talking ants, there is always a touch of the strange.

please ignore vera dietz everybody sees the ants

  • Stork by Wendy Delsol is another favorite of mine. Kat is a human stork, responsible for placing new souls with the proper parent.stork

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

 

 

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Unique Reads 4/8/14

  1. Going to be adding a bunch of these to my TBR list!

  2. Wonderful list! I’ve liked a few of these and will add others to my TBR — thanks!

  3. courtneykazmierczak

    I’ve heard really amazing things about Brandon Sanderson, but I’ve never read any of his books! Soon, it might be the time! Great list 🙂

  4. I was completely engrossed in Steelheart as well. Pretty stellar content that reminds me why I’m jealous of the Marvel Universe etc.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts</b

  5. Cinder!! I thought it was really good! 🙂 🙂

  6. Grasshopper Jungle does sound really really unique. I’ve read a bunch of reviews on it and I still can’t figure out what it is even about!! I loved Winger though, so I definitely want to read it. AND I saw it at the library and it has bright yellow pages! How cool is that?! I also have Cinder on my list because how do you even come up with a cyborg Cinderella? I also agree about A.S. King. She always adds that little something different in all her books 🙂

    My TTT

  7. I am afraid to read Grasshopper Jungle. Everyone uses the word “bizarre” when describing it – not sure if I’m curious or turned off. Great list, excellent points on why they’re all unique.

  8. Great list 🙂 I have been seeing Cinder on so many lists today, makes me very excited to finally get to that one! 🙂 My TTT.

Leave a Reply

