Mondays with Megan-Lives Change @ Your Library 4/14/14

 

 Happy National Library Week!
April 13-19

lives-change-library

This year’s theme is Lives Change @ Your Library and if you are a regular library user you know that statement is the truth! I work for a medium-sized independent library and I love all of the awesome services we offer. One of the things that makes my library unique is our Reading Room. Not sure what to read next? This is an excellent place to start! The well-read librarians here at RRPL have created a database of all the great books we read. You’ll find brief summaries and reviews of thousands of books as well as suggested readalikes. You can look for your favorite authors or titles, but if you are feeling more adventurous, you can find books by searching for descriptors or time periods or locations. You should check it out!

Now, on to my favorite Monday list.

mondayreading new monday

 It’s time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for another edition of It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

universe versus dorothy

  • The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence is one of this month’s Teen’s Choice books. This book deserves a full review from me. I absolutely loved it. Alex starts his story with the end-with an urn of ashes and a bunch of marijuana. A quietly moving story of bullying, friendship, and end of life decisions unfolds.
  • Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige has been one of my most highly anticipated books of the year. As I write this I technically haven’t finished the book, but I intend to devour the remaining 100 pages the second I am free from work, so I am counting it. Amy Gumm’s trailer home gets sucked up by a tornado and she is deposited in Oz, much like the previous visitor from Kansas, Dorothy Gale. It turns out that Dorothy returned to Oz and became totally evil and Amy has to save Oz. This book is everything I had hoped and dreamed for in a twisted Oz retelling! It also deserves a full review.

Current Audio:

shades of earth more than this

I will finish both of these this week. I am anticipating a satisfying conclusion to the Across the Earth trilogy by Beth Revis. I am also really glad I stuck with More Than This by Patrick Ness. I hesitate to reveal too much, but it is so weird and totally worth it.

Currently Reading:

chasers elite

On Deck:

peace, love and baby ducks traitor in the tunnel

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

6 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Lives Change @ Your Library 4/14/14

  1. Brunette Librarian

    We’re celebrating at my library too!! Gotta love libraries AND librarians 🙂

    Happy reading this week! The Brunette Librarian’s Blog

  2. I completely agree about More Than This. It was so weird but absolutely worth reading. Dorothy Must Die looks very interesting. I had not heard of The Universe Versus Alex Woods before, but will definitely look for it now. Have a great reading week!

  3. I’ll have to move the Patrick Ness up on my TBR list. I’ve been reading a lot of weird books lately, so it would fit my current mood! Dorothy Must Die has the most awesome cover! I am a big Wizard of Oz fan, so this sounds like a book I would enjoy. I didn’t realize it was National Library Week! Of course, for me every week is National Library Week!

  4. Such a good variety of books! Like Andrea, I hadn’t heard of The Universe Versus Alex Woods, either, but you make it sound really good! I’m enjoying The Selection, so I’ll probably go forward with The Elite. Happy reading!

  5. Keira Cass’ books have been patiently waiting on my TBR list. I really do am looking forward to reading them. Are they popular with your students?

  6. I own a copy of More than This but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Very excited to read it though as well as his Crane Wife. 🙂

Leave a Reply

