Mondays with Megan Readathon Review 4/28/14

Happy Monday *yawn* *reaches for more coffee*! This weekend I participated in my sixth Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon. I love this online reading challenge for so many reasons. First and foremost because it is an excuse to sit around and read all day (and night) long. I also love the online camaraderie it builds as you explore new blogs and complete mini challenges. And if I am being completely honest, I kind of love the excuse to snack. Snacks are important. Anyway. I made it to Hour 18 this year and finished 5 and 2/3 books. Sound like fun? Consider signing up for the October challenge!

Here’s a quick check-in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for another round of It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Finished:

dust nantucket redbreakfast walking dead 18 walking dead 19 walking dead 20 bar code tattoo

  • The Dust of 100 Dogs by A.S King-this is her debut novel and the last of her books that I needed to read. Emer Morrisey is pirate who is cursed to live the life of 100 dogs. When the curse is fulfilled she is able to pick up where she left of. Sort of. This was an odd and entertaining book and I enjoyed it, but I am glad this was not my introduction to A.S. King.
  • Nantucket Red by Leila Howland is the sequel to Nantucket Blue. The story picks up shortly after the end of the first book with Cricket and her boyfriend (no spoilers!). The new relationship comes with complications and to add to that Cricket needs to plan for college. I know that is vague! I really enjoyed the continuation of Cricket’s story. This is a fun summer romance, but start with the first book!
  • Breakfast Served Anytime by Sarah Combs is a lovely and charming debut novel. Gloria is a collector of the written word. She signs up for a summer workshop at the local college that offers a mysterious sounding class called Secrets of the Written Word. She leaves her dad, her best friend, and all connects to social media behind and embarks on a summer of discovery.
  • The Walking Dead vols 18-20 by Robert Kirkman. Brutal.
  • The Bar Code Tattoo by Suzanne Weyn. This book was recommended to me by a teen reader. I am glad she enjoyed it, but this book inspired rage in me. I am not ready to talk about it! Needless to say, I will not be reading the rest in the series.

Current Audio:

little brother accident

Currently Reading:

geography of you and me storm front rules for breaking

On Deck:

enchantment messenger stuck in neutral

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

6 responses to “Mondays with Megan Readathon Review 4/28/14

  1. What? We can’t bar code the children? But it would make things so much easier, and with the amount of tattoos I see around, we wouldn’t be able to tell on some of them!

  2. Snacks and reading definitely go hand in hand. I’ll be interested in your thoughts about Zusak’s book – which I loved.

  3. A read a thon? I want to do this! What fun. That is the only A.S. King I haven’t read. I am such a fan but this title just doesn’t look appealing to me. Maybe I just need to dive in.

  4. Wow you did an awesome job! Unfortunately my Uni life is way too busy at the moment to attempt a 24 hour read-a-thon but I am going to attempt the Bout of Books 10! Are you?

Leave a Reply

