Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Almost Put Down, But Didn’t (Thank Goodness!) 5/13/14

toptentuesday

It used to be that if I started a book I needed to finish it, whether I was enjoying it or not. Those days are long gone and I no longer have any problem ditching a book that just isn’t working for me. Of course, there are exceptions to any rule, so I do have a list of books that I *almost* gave up on, but for some reason or another pushed through, only to discover a truly amazing book. Oh, those slow starters!

1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I did, in fact abandon this book. Twice. And then I got the audio and it was a whole new experience. Suddenly I was sitting in my driveway after work just to hear the end of the track.

book thief

2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. *See Above*

daughter of smoke

3. Blood Red Road by Moira Young. I almost gave up because of the dialect. I only pushed on because I felt obligated to finish because I had received an advanced copy from the publisher. I love this series and can’t wait to read the last book!

blood red road

4. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. I mean, have you seen these books? I only picked it up because I had finally succumbed to peer pressure at work. This book was a chore! But thankfully it all just clicked…over 200 pages in!

game of thrones

5. Going Bovine by Libba Bray. This was another case of the book not working for me, but the audio being just the right thing.

going bovine

6. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. This is another example of dialect almost ruining it for me. That, and the talking dog. I am so glad I got over my hang ups and finished this awesome series.

knife

7. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein. I really enjoyed listening to Code Name Verity, but struggled to get into my print copy of Rose Under Fire. This was in large part due to the fact that this book was much more graphic in describing the horrors of the concentration camps. I really can’t handle Holocaust books and only picked this one because of the previous book. I am glad I finished, but struggle to say I liked it. Make sense?

rose under fire

8. I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. I can’t explain this one. This books are really not that great, especially the first one, but they are so darned compelling! I am strangely hooked.

number four

And how about two that I *did* but down and don’t feel one bit of guilt over?

9. Nil by Lynne Matson. Um, really? Nope.

nil

10. Dear Killer by Katherine Ewell. So. Many. Issues. This was a hot mess.

dear killer

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Almost Put Down, But Didn’t (Thank Goodness!) 5/13/14

  1. Ohh I’ve been considering reading Nil. I’ve been on the fence about it and I think I might give it a miss! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier, have a great week 🙂

  2. I might have to try the audio version of The Book Thief because I struggled with it too. Still haven’t finished it.

    Hope you’ll visit http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-almost-put.html

  3. I forgot about Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I had a hard time getting through that book and decided to give up on the series in the end.

  4. A few of these books are in my TBR pile. I have wanted to read The Book Thief for awhile now, maybe I’ll do the audio. I definitely understand what you mean with A Game of Thrones. Those books are really dense with a lot of moving parts. In most of the books it takes awhile for them to get good but when they do they’re complete page-turners. I’m glad you stuck it out!

    Thanks for stopping by and checking out my list!

Leave a Reply

