Mondays With Megan: Bout of Books 10 Wrap-up/What Are You Reading? 5/19/14

Happy Monday, dear readers! Did everyone have a nice weekend? Did you squeeze in some reading time? I got a lot of listening in, but I think that I am in a bit of a reading slump when it comes to using my own eyeballs. There are a number of factors contributing to this, but I have isolated the one thing that I can actually change. I need to loosen up on the “rules.” I have really enjoyed having my teens pick books for me to read and for the most part, I have enjoyed their choices. I have also enjoyed participating in the Random Reads meme. However, with two book clubs, two teen’s choices, and a random read each month, there is less time to just read what I want to read. I had hoped a loosely structured readathon like Bout of Books would help, but sadly, I really dropped the ball on that one. Now that I am aware of what is hanging me up, I think I am going to take the summer “off” and just read whatever I want. Oh, the troubles that plague us readers, right? Despite my self-perceived slum, I managed to finish a few things last week.

mondayreading new monday

Here’s a quick check-in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for another It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

rebel belle chocolate war rules for breaking rosie project

  • Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins was so much fun! The story was fresh (this is the first teen Paladin I have encounter outside of Dungeons & Dragons!) with plenty of action, sass, and romance.
  • The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier is a YA classic. I honestly didn’t know much about it going in. This story is dark, disturbing, and stands the test of time.
  • The Rules for Breaking by Ashley Elston is the sequel to her thriller, The Rules for Disappearing. Again, a fresh story (a teen in witness protection) and lots of danger and suspense.
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion is definitely my favorite of the bunch. This debut novel is so quirky and sweet and I loved every minute of the audiobook.

Current Audio:

this is where i leave you prisoner of night and fog

Currently Reading:

messenger enchantment buzz kill bzrk 3

On Deck:

museum article 5 raging star

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

2 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Bout of Books 10 Wrap-up/What Are You Reading? 5/19/14

  1. It does sound like you have a lot of reading on your plate that is chosen for you. I think it sounds like a great idea to just read what you want to read this summer. I have been thinking about getting around to Article 5 soon also. Have a great reading week!

  2. I’ve been meaning to borrow The Chocolate War from our library for our current reading theme, but I completely forgot about it. Thanks to your post, I am reminded by it! 🙂 I always enjoy dark and disturbing stories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

