Top Ten Tuesday-Beach Bag Books 6/3/14

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and The Bookish are looking for beach reads! My beach bag will mostly likely not see a single grain of sand this summer because I will be too busy doing grass/patio/porch reading. Sand makes me twitchy. So, my lazy summer days reading will hopefully consist of the following books:

1. The One by Kiera Cass. Honestly, I do not even like this series. But I *must* know how it ends.

the one

2. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. True story: this book is too big for me to commit to right now! Have you seen it? It’s a monster. I will be reaching for this one when I have a few days off!

city of heavenly fire

3. After the End by Amy Plum. I plan to read this new post-apocalyptic suspense this summer. I have it at home now, so possibly sooner than later.

after the end

4. Landline by Rainbow Rowell. I can’t wait for this new book to come out on July 8th.

landline

5. What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick. The ultimate beach read! Look at the cover; they are on the beach!

what i thought

6. Fool Moon by Jim Butcher. I just started this series and I can already tell that these books will be my go-tos when I am struggling to choose a book. I suspect that Harry Dresden is dependable. I will be able to count on him to be entertaining.

fool moon

7. The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt. I can always count on Lindsey Leavitt to deliver a fun, cute read. Perfect for summer.

chapel wars

8. Pointe by Brandy Colbert. I almost didn’t add this to my TBR list because of ballet. Eh. But people keep raving about it and it’s a mystery/thriller. Also, I remembered that I have no interest in high school football but I still I LOVED Friday Night Lights, so Pointe gets a chance this summer! *NOTE* I accidentally forgot to bring a book to work for my dinner break so I grabbed this one off the shelf and read the first chapter. I definitely want to read this book now!

point

9. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. I have enjoyed Zevin’s YA books, but have never read any of her adult works. This one sounds fantastic and I can’t wait to read or listen to it this summer.

storied life

10. The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner. I think I need a touching/moving/crying type summer book. From what I hear, this one will do the trick.

summer of letting go

What books are on your summer reading list?

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Beach Bag Books 6/3/14

  1. We don’t share any books on our lists this week. I have heard a few of yours. I think Chapel Wars is on my TBR list.
    Here’s my list: http://booksaz.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/ten-books-that-will-be-in-my-beach-bag-this-summer/

  2. Rainbow Rowell hasn’t let me down yet–her books are sweet and funny– and I’m waiting to get The Storied Life… from the library. I absolutely adore the Dresden books–the newest one came out recently, and I’m exercising self-control, waiting to get it until I’ve read some of my library books. But I’m so excited to see what happens next!

  3. Loooove THE CHAPEL WARS and POINTE, and love of ballet is *definitely* not necessary for the latter; it was much less dance-centric than I’d expected!

  4. kentuckygal50

    Wow…all these are new to me. The more I get to know about what books are out there, the more I realize I still don’t know. :O)

  5. The Chapel Wars would be a great beach read, and I really need to read the last two books in The Selection series.

  6. The Chapel Wars looks fairly interesting from the cover. I love the Selection series by Cass! They are so amazing and I loved the way that it ended. Pointe also looks reasonably interesting. This looks like a great beach bag. Here are mine: http://pageturner20.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/www-wednesdays/

Leave a Reply

