Mondays With Megan-Listen Up! June is Audiobook Month. 6/9/14

JuneHeader

It has been awhile since I publicly declared by undying love for audiobooks, so I figured this was the perfect opportunity to remind everyone how amazing it can be to listen to a book, and get in a plug about how EASY it is to get audiobooks from Rocky River Public Library!

I always have a book on cd in my car and a Playaway at home so that I can listen while I walk the dogs, work in the yard, or do boring housework. If I had a smart phone or other device, I *could* also download audiobooks to an mp3 player or stream audio using our new Hoopla service.

I have listened to nearly 200 audiobooks in the past few years. My favorite readers are still Jim Dale (Harry Potter, The Night Circus), Katherine Kellgren (Bloody Jack), and Jayne Entwistle (Flavia de Luce). This year I have already fallen in love with a number of new audiobooks. Here are a few of the highlights:

shadow and bone rosie project stories more than this

If you ever need an audio recommendation, let me know! I love talking about talking books!

If it weren’t for audiobooks, I would hardly be getting any reading done lately. I did manage to read (with my eyes) one book last week. I am kind of stuck with my other two in progress reads, which leads me to start new books…Here is my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? report. Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

mondayreading new monday

 

Finished:

girl you left behind tease

  • The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes is a story within a story, all surrounding a portrait of a young French woman painted by the subject’s husband before WWI. I really enjoyed both stories.
  • Tease by Amanda Maciel is a complex look at bullying. When a teen commits suicide after months of relentless bullying, her parents press charges against the bullies. This story is told from the point of view of one of the girls being charged. It is hard to say that I liked this book because so much of the content is unlikable, but it was powerful and moving and satisfying in the end. I am considering this title for a book club read.

Current Audio:

10% happier francona

It’s all about nonfiction for me right now! I am really enjoying 10% Happier by Dan Harris. I am also finding Francona’s autobiography quite interesting, even if I do have to hear about that other team he managed 😉

Currently Reading:

hero's guide outlaw bzrk 3 pointe

  • The Hero’s Guide to Being an Outlaw by Christopher Healy has been my bedtime read for weeks now. The problem is, by the time I go to bed I can’t keep my eyes open for more than 5 minutes!
  • BZRK: Apocalypse by Michael Grant is so creepy. I really can only read it in small bits…
  • Pointe by Brandy Colbert is the book I am reading instead of the other two. I am hooked! It’s dark and gritty and mysterious.

On Deck:

girl with a clock for a heart summer of letting go

Happy Reading (and Listening)!

∼Megan

 

 

11 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Listen Up! June is Audiobook Month. 6/9/14

  1. Seriously, Jayne Entwistle for the Flavia books is AMAZING! I read the first three flavias, but listened to the fourth book, and now I’m only going to listen to them because she so rocks it!

    I loved The Rosie Project, too. What a fantastic audiobook. And I really need to read Shadow and Bone. I’m totally going the audiobook route.

  2. The Girl With a Clock For a Heart sounds intriguing. Happy reading.

    Here’s my list:
    http://wendimlee.blogspot.com/2014/06/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  3. I completely understand you on the bedtime reading thing. I’m not one of those people who can stay up all night reading. Usually I get comfortable in bed, pick up my book and am asleep five minutes later. Doesn’t matter how good the book is. 🙂

  4. Thanks so much for the audiobook recommendations. I have really become a fan of audiobooks this year. Tease sounds like a powerful read. I will have to add it to the TBR list.

  5. I’m listening to Night Circus right now, the narrator is great! I also love Jim Woodward, he did a GREAT job with The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Flowers for Algernon.

  6. It’s always a good sign when you skip other books to read a really good one. Have a great week and enjoy your audiobooks!

  7. I too love audiobooks – Flavia is one of my favourites. Have you listened to Lyle Lovett read The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp? It’s pure bliss. I finished it and started listening all over again!

  8. It’s good to find someone who loves audiobooks as much as you do. I have my own issues about them – my daughter listened to the book thief – it may be the book itself, which I prefer reading; or the notions of being in control with my own reading (perhaps relishing a line here or speed-reading several lines there, etc) that make me avoid audiobooks, but I should perhaps give it a try. I own a copy of More than This but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Hopefully, within the year.

    • I totally understand your issues. There are definitely certain books that demand to be read! For me, audiobooks are awesome for times when the physical act of reading is impossible. I also find that sometimes I need someone else to read a book I just could not get into. I actually made that discovery with The Book Thief. I tried many times, but just didn’t click with the writing. The audio on the other hand is enchanting. A thing of magic and beauty. I am forever grateful for that audiobook. Without it, I would not have experienced that amazing story!

  9. I don’t know if you’ve heard about AudioBook Sync. They are pairing a recent YA novel with a classic title for free every week throughout the summer as audiobook downloads. http://www.audiobooksync.com/ I really want to read 10% Happier.

  10. I love audios, too, Megan! And I forgot that June is audiobook month, so thanks for the reminder. I’ve been going through audio books at record speed lately now that I mostly use digital downloads and can wear my iPod around while cooking, doing laundry, and walking. I just finished We Were Liars on audio and loved it – need to pick out my next audio.

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

    2014 Big Book Summer Challenge

Leave a Reply

