Mondays with Megan 6/23/14 Summer Reading Week 2!

Summer reading is officially underway and our first winners have been chosen. Congratulations! A new basket full of goodies is just waiting to be won. Stop by to sign up (if you haven’t already) and check out this week’s prize. I see a beach towel, The Princess Bride on DVD, free Chipotle, some of my favorite books, really cute Duck Tape (it has owls on it!), Oreos, and more! You should win this one! If I could play, I would have a really good shot at winning because I read a bunch of books last week.

 mondayreading new monday

Here is my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? report. Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

Finished:

the one aj fikry things i learned in school bzrk 3

  • The One by Kiera Cass. There was something so ridiculously compelling about this series. I *had* to finish it. I *needed* to find out how it ended. I really did not like this series and my dislike seemed to grow with each passing book. And yet, I read them all. I could rant, but that’s not very nice, so I will just say that these books were too shallow for my liking.
  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. Now this book? This book was beautiful. A love letter to quirky little bookstores and the people who support them.
  • Things I Learned in School by Connie Masters. That’s my aunt! She wrote a book! This is a thoughtful collection of essays discussing the author’s 30+ years working as a school psychologist.
  • BZRK: Apocalypse by Michael Grant. I am still trying to wrap my head around this one. This was a brutal and brilliant ending to  the trilogy and I am so lucky to have gotten a sneak peek.

Current audio:

francona boys in the boat

Still listening to Francona: The Red Sox Years and I just started The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown.

Currently reading:

in the shadows what i thought was true sunrise

I started In the Shadows by Kiersten White and Jim di Bartolo the other night, but decided the illustrations were to creepy for bedtime. I am a baby. So, I swapped it out for What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick. In the spirit of finishing up trilogies (The Selection, BZRK), I dove right into Sunrise by Mike Mullin. It’s a hefty book, so it should keep me busy most of the week.

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

One response to “Mondays with Megan 6/23/14 Summer Reading Week 2!

  1. I loved The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry too! I feel on occasion that an author wrote a certain book just for people who love to read. That was one of them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

