Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite Classics (and a Few I Want to Read) and Random Reads 7/1/14

Holy Moley, it’s July! We are at the half-way point of 2014. The new month means a new Random Read, a monthly meme hosted by I’m Loving Books.

random reads

Random Reads is a meme where participants pick a random book from their shelf to read within the month. Feel free to do more than one per month, but since a lot of people have a lot of books to read each month, only one is “required” for the meme. I’m on Goodreads so I use my To Read list and Random.org to pick the book I’m going to read.

Last month I read The Originals by Cat Patrick. This book is perfect for readers curious about science fiction, but maybe worried about it being to science-y. Make sense?

My July selection is #17 on my To Read list, Chaos of the Stars by Kiersten White. I actually own this book and still haven’t read it! I added it to the list September 20, 2012.

chaos of the stars

Next order of business, Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we are talking classics. I’ll be honest, I haven’t read many classics since I finished school….ages and ages ago. A few that I was required to read have stuck with me, a few I pursued on my own and enjoyed, and some are on some theoretical TBR list. So, my list is a mixed bag. As usual.

Favorites:

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I love Atticus Finch. I love that he does the right thing, not the easy thing.

mockingbird

2. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I read this on my own, to fill in gaps in my education. It was challenging and rewarding and it inspired me to continue reading classics. That lasted for about a year….

crime

3. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. This book was read to me (and a class of second graders) while I was doing student teaching. I have often revisited Oz and stories of Oz. I adore this graphic adaptation!

wizard of oz

 

4. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. I tend to prefer “modern classics” over older classics.

fahrenheit 451

5. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. This one is well on its way to classics status.

book thief

6. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. It’s been ages since I read this one, but I remember like it.

in cold blood

7. The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier. I just read this YA classic for the first time and was surprised by how much I liked it.

chocolate war

Classics I May Read…Someday:

8. Dune by Frank Herbert. I never really read science fiction or fantasy when I was younger. Now that I have discovered how much I enjoy current books in those genres I should check out some classics.

dune

9. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I bought this one recently. Maybe I will read it someday.

great expectations

10. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck. There is much discussion of the Depression, the Dust Bowl, and the great western migration in The Boys in the Boat, the book I am currently listening to. It might be time to visit this classic, now that I have some other context for the story.

grapes of wrath

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday- Favorite Classics (and a Few I Want to Read) and Random Reads 7/1/14

  1. I bought The Chocolate war a year ago… I need to read it soon!

  2. I loved In Cold Blood when I read it for a college Lit class, such an interesting book and definitely worth a re-read!

  3. Great Expectations is waiting for me on my Kindle, I just have to get to it… But I lack motivation, I admit.

  4. olgialikesfood

    The Chaos of Stars looks so good! Wishing you luck on the RR!
    My RR

Leave a Reply

