Mondays with Megan-It’s Almost Library Luau Time! 7/14/14

Wow! It has been two full weeks since I last blogged! Since I’ve been gone we gave away two more awesome summer reading baskets. This week’s winner is taking home a tie dye kit, the movie The Outsiders, some books, candy, and more. Next week’s basket has some funky duct tape, The Big Bang Theory pens, candy, books, and more! Stop by the Reference Desk to sign up and get busy reading so you can enter the drawing!

Before I get to my own reading list, I have to mention that Wednesday, July 16 will be the second annual Luau on the Lawn at the Library. Students finishing grades 5-8 should join us at 2pm for fun games (Musical Beach Blankets and water balloon tossing, anyone?), snacks (we’ll have smoothies, watermelon, and candy), and even an Iron Chef competition. Not interested in competing? We’ll have Rainbow Looms and bands handy for you to get crafty.

Now for two weeks worth of reading to report! Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

harry quebert boys in the boat in real life twenty-one girl with clock bad medice born at midnight invasion

  • The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker is a page-turner of a mystery. I couldn’t put this one down.
  • The Boys in the Boat by Daniel Brown is the inspirational story of the 1936 U.S. Olympic crew team. Fantastic audio!
  • In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang is a yet-to-be-released graphic novel about a teenaged girl and her experience with a multiplayer roleplaying game.
  • Top Secret Twenty-One by Janet Evanovich is the latest installment in the Stephanie Plum saga. It is exactly what I have come to expect from these novels. They are my summer fluff reading.
  • The Girl With a Clock for a Heart by Peter Swanson is another mystery/thriller. It wasn’t my favorite, but the audio was engaging.
  • Bad Medicine, vol. 1 by Nunzio DeFilippis is the first volume in a new graphic novel series that pairs an eccentric doctor and a NYPD detective as they investigate a seemingly impossible medical phenomenon. It was pretty good and I will be watching to see where the series goes.
  • Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter is the first in a series about a camp for supernatural teens. I am still not sure how I feel about this one. I was disappointed with the world building. Mostly this was a romance with a love-triangle, set at a camp. I will most likely stop here.
  • Animorphs: The Invasion by Katherine Applegate is the first in the wildly popular middle grade series. I am looking for a book that will interest my soon-to-be second grade nephew. He loves animals, music, trucks and tool. He is quite well-rounded in his interests, but doesn’t have the patience to sit for long while being read to. I’ll gladly take suggestions for books his mom can read to him!

Current Audio:

dreams of gods and monsters rithmatist

Currently Reading:

in the shadows fool moon chaos of the stars amity

On Deck:

landline

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan-It’s Almost Library Luau Time! 7/14/14

  1. I always happy to see someone else reading more than one book at a time.
    I found Animorphs hard to read aloud but YMMV. Maybe Ursula Le Guin — my kids like Catwings, which is a good read-aloud than can be stolen by the kid to read ahead. My son liked Wizard of Earthsea around this age as well, but he was a dedicated listener. Audio books in the car might stretch his attention span — The Thief was adored by our family.

    I really liked The Rithmatist and am now cranky at all Sanderson’s other series which keep the next one from coming out soon. Maybe I should try those other books…

    • Thanks for the suggestions! I actually only picked up The Rithmatist because I kind of got a little obsessed with Steelheart. So while I am waiting (impatiently) for Firefight I am revisiting some of Sanderson’s other works.

  2. I have a copy of The Rithmatist sitting on my desk nagging me to read it. I love the cover and have been waiting for the right mood to strike me. I am a multi-book reader also. A book for lunch, one at bedtime, one for the car. I am reading Fangirl and Landline would be a good next choice.

  3. We’re going to have a scifi reading theme soon, and Animorphs sounds like a perfect series to consider, plus Katherine Applegate! 🙂 Will be reading the Laini Taylor novels soonest. Looking forward to enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

