Mondays With Megan-Summer Fun 7/21/14

Last week, on the coldest day of the summer, the library hosted a Luau on the Lawn. So much fun was had! We played musical beach blankets, had a limbo contest (boy, those kids were bendy!), there was a Nerf archery contest, an Iron Chef contest, and we topped it all off with a water balloon toss and fight. Good times were had by all!

balloons hibiscus

 This is just half of the balloons we had on hand! Also, how cool is it that my hibiscus got its first two blooms on the morning of our party?

This morning I gave away another fantastic basket! This week’s prize basket includes a make-your-own slushee kit, the movie Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, cookies, candy, Chipotle coupons, and of course, books! I think it’s another fun one. You can’t win if you don’t play, so be sure to stop in and see us. We are down to our last two prize baskets, so it’s now or never.

I am still working on my Summer Reading Throwdown Challenge. I pledged to finish 12 books in July. I am on track to exceed that number. Nine down, three to go, with ten days left. No problemo!

Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 Finished:

fool moon landline rithmatist in the shadows

  • Fool Moon by Jim Butcher is the second installment of The Dresden Files. I am definitely a fan of this urban fantasy series starring a wizard and the Chicago PD.
  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell is yet another fun, romantic offering from the author of Eleanor & Park and Fangirl. Big fan, here!
  • The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson is the first in a steampunk-y series. It took a while for me to warm up to this one, but in the end I really liked it! Sign me up for more!
  • In the Shadows by Kiersten White and Jim Di Bartolo is a unique collaboration of story and art. Both the text and the images tell the story of a secret society of immortals and the young man who is trying to stop them.

Current Audio:

dreams of gods and monsters that night

I don’t ever want Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor to end. Ever. It is so beautiful and horrific. I also started That Night by Chevy Stevens, a new suspense/thriller.

Currently Reading:

juliet immortal amity chaos of the stars chapel wars

I am still trying to find my next big read. You know, that book you just can’t put down? The one you think about when you aren’t reading it? These books that I am working on are fine and I am enjoying them, but I am not lost in any of them. I want to be lost! Suggestions?

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Summer Fun 7/21/14

  1. I so want to read Landline. I think I just secured a copy from a friend. I am such a fan of Rowell!

  2. Your reading list is full of books I hope to get to one day! And water balloon fight – yay!!!

  3. I’m giving my niece “Fangirl” for her birthday – Rowell is such a talent. I might have a look at “Fool Moon”.

  4. That Night was so good. I really liked it. I loved The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I couldn’t put that one down and when I had to, I found every excuse to get back to it.
    Laura
    It’s Monday, What are you reading?

  5. Hmm, been reading mixed reviews on Landline but can’t wait to read it anyway, I’m certainly a fangirl of her work… Enjoy choosing and reading!

  6. Oh I hope you like Amity, I will be reading that one soon. 🙂

    Enjoy your reads,
    Stormi
    http://www.booksmoviesreviewsohmy.com/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-75/

  7. Hi there Megan, I’ve been meaning to read Laini Taylor’s series – I heard that they’re really great reads. I already bought the first book in the series, I hope I find the time to read it before year ends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

