Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading is Almost Over! 7/28/14

It’s hard to believe, but Summer Reading is coming to an end. I have one more basket to give away. Be sure to get all your entry slips by Saturday. Despite the unseasonably cool and rainy weather, I managed to to squeeze in a ton of summer fun. But not a lot of reading. Part of it is that I still have not found a book that  I feel the need to be lost in. I am enjoying my reading, but nothing has sucked me in lately. Luckily I managed to finish a couple of things so I something to talk about today.

Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

juliet immortal dreams of gods and monsters

  • Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay was recommended to me by one of my avid teen readers. This book offers a unique twist on the classic Romeo and Juliet tale. In this version, Romeo betrays Juliet in order to secure immortality. For centuries the two have been battling for the souls of true lovers. Good versus evil, light versus dark; it’s always the same, until the day Juliet falls in love…again. I am a sucker for retellings, and this one certainly is satisfying. It was a quick and suspenseful romance and I will definitely read the companion book.
  • Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor is the third book in The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. I am not ready to be done with Karou and her gang. Not at all. The ending is fantastic, except that it’s an ending. Zuzana and Liraz really stole the show for me.

Current Audio:

that night mr. mercedes

  • That Night by Chevy Stevens-the story has really picked up! I need it to stop raining so I can take this book and the dogs for a walk.
  • Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King-I just started it yesterday, so it’s too early to tell, but the reader is fantastic. Will Patton reads The Dream Thieves series as well. I really enjoy a familiar voice.

Currently Reading:

chaos of the stars chapel wars amity hatchet

I am still working on all the same books as last week, with the exception of Hatchet. My nine-year old nephew recently read and loved Hatchet and decided that he and I should have a Hatchet book club. I am reading the first book while he devours books 2-4!

On Deck:

questionI don’t know!! Suggestions?

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

2 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading is Almost Over! 7/28/14

  1. Summer reading is almost over?! My summer hasn’t even started yet! xD some awesome books you got there =)

  2. Looks like a great week. I haven’t read any of these books yet but I do have a few of them on my TBR. I hope you enjoy all your books. Have a fantastic week and happy reading!!! My It’s Monday

Leave a Reply

