Mondays with Megan-Summer Isn’t Over, But Summer Reading at the Library Is! 8/4/14

It was with a little sadness (and honestly, a tiny bit of relief-summer reading is a big project!) that I drew the final summer reading winner. Despite the fact that our contest was shortened by two weeks this year, I had more teen readers sign up! I love keeping stats, so I can tell you that 119 teens signed up and those who went on to read and enter for prizes read a combined 351 books!

In really sad  news, I just learned that L.A. Meyer, the author of my most beloved Bloody Jack series, passed away last week. He had been ill with Hodgkin Lymphoma. The final chapter of Jacky Faber’s saga is scheduled to be published this November. This final reading will certainly be bittersweet. I am forever grateful for this series. Thank you, Mr. Meyer, Jacky is my hero.

Now, on to my Monday reading report. It’s a small one this week. Not because I wasn’t reading. I was. I just can’t say what I was reading. I know, that’s so mean of me. I am sorry. Forget I said anything. Let’s just look at my sad little reading list….

mondayreading new monday

 Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

Finished

that night through the woods

  • That Night by Chevy Stevens was a fast-paced thriller/mystery. Toni and her boyfriend Ryan are convicted of murdering Toni’s younger sister. Despite their insistence that they are innocent the pair spend more than 15 years in prison. Upon her release, Toni wants nothing more than to rebuild a life, but Ryan is so sure that he can prove their innocence once and for all. Plenty of twists and turns, this one was exciting and heartbreaking all at once.
  • Through the Woods by Emily Carroll is a new graphic novel full of creepy short stories. The illustrations are stunning and the stories are reminiscent of Poe. Dark and lovely.

Current Audio:

arsonist mr.mercedes

Two more thrillers! Mr. Mercedes is delightfully horrifying.

Currently Reading:

hatchet amity chapel wars memorial

My 9-year old nephew has started a Hatchet Book Club. Members include me, his mom, his younger brother, and my aunt. I love this kid’s enthusiasm! I am still working on Amity. The problem is that it is scary. I can’t read it at home. I almost finished with The Chapel Wars. It is very cute! I also started a new graphic novel, Memorial by Chris Roberson. It’s a pretty interesting concept.

On Deck:

I have no idea!

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Summer Isn’t Over, But Summer Reading at the Library Is! 8/4/14

  1. I’m sorry for the loss of a favorite author. I don’t even know those books, so will look for them, Megan. I just read another review of Through The Woods-just in time for getting ready for Halloween. Your teen read program sounds very successful. Over a hundred signing up is awesome!

  2. My comment seems to have disappeared, so if you get two… I just read another review of Through The Woods, sounds just right for Halloween spookiness! Sorry for the loss of a favorite author-I will look for those stories-don’t know them. Congrats on such a successful summer teen program-great to hear that over 100 signed up! Thanks for all!

  3. It seems too early for summer reading to be over! I fully intend to read a lot more summer books! 😉

  4. I have not read any of the Bloody Jack series. I will have to look for those books. It is so sad to hear of a favorite author’s passing. I also am intrigued by That Night. I will be adding it to the TBR. Have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

