Mondays with Megan-Vacation Time! 8/11/14

As summer winds down and kids get ready to go back to school, I am finally getting my own vacation in! I am so excited to be heading to Newport, Rhode Island this weekend for my cousin’s wedding. I have never been and I plan to cram as much in as possible. Some vacation preparation included clear up some of my reading shelves! Check out how many books I finished last week (and then in a totally counterproductive move, look how many I started…*groan*).

mondayreading new monday

Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

 

Finished:

hatchet chapel wars mr.mercedes arsonist amity seconds

  • Hatchet by Gary Paulsen is the story of how a young teen survives alone in the Canadian wilderness after a plane crash. My nine-year old nephew loves this book and told me I just HAD to read it myself. I really enjoyed it and plan to read the rest of the Brian Robeson series-it’s my ticket into his exclusive book club!
  • The Chapel Wars by Lindsey Leavitt. When 16-year old Holly inherits the family wedding chapel when her beloved grandfather dies, she has no idea that the future of the chapel is uncertain. She really has her work cut out for her! Add in a romance with the competition’s grandson and you have a perfect summer read. This was just the light read that I needed!
  • Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King. The latest offering from King is less horror and more crime thriller. This cat and mouse tale stars a retired detective and the mass killer he failed to catch when he worked the case. Deeply disturbing at times, as is to be expected. I really enjoyed this latest offering and the audio is excellent!
  • The Arsonist by Sue Miller. After spending 15-years doing humanitarian work in Africa, Frankie Rowley has returned to the sleepy New Hampshire town of Pomeroy, where her parents have retired. As the town is besieged by an arsonist, Frankie struggles with her father’s failing health and her own lack of direction. This was my first Sue Miller book, and honestly, I was a little disappointed. The title and description are misleading, as the fires take a back seat the family drama.
  • Amity by Micol Ostow. Check out my review here.
  • Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley. Katie is a talented young chef with a successful restaurant and a second one in the works. Things are going well, until suddenly, they aren’t. Lucky for Katie, she gets a little help from a mysterious new friend who offers her an easy solution for a “do over.” All would have been fine if Katie had just followed the rules, but the thrill of a fresh start was too enticing. Soon everything is out of whack, nothing is working, and it’s all Katie’s fault. This graphic novel from the author of the Scott Pilgrim is fantastic! A fun, cautionary tale.

Current Audio:

conversion that summer

  • Conversion by Kathrine Howe. To tell the truth, I am having a hard time connecting with this one. We’ll see.
  • That Summer by Lauren Willig. So far, I am enjoying this dual storyline book. It’s reminding me a little of The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes, which I really liked.

Currently Reading:

i'll give you the sun romeo redeemed dark triumph gods of newport

  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. This is the book I have been looking for all summer. The book that would hook me, suck me in, and not let me go! I am getting an A.S. King vibe from this one and you may recall that I am just a *teeny* bit in love with all things A.S. King.
  • Romeo Redeemed by Stacey Jay. This is the companion book to Juliet Immortal, which I recently read that the recommendation of a teen reader.
  • Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers. Despite wanting to read this one, I didn’t intend to start reading it last week. This is what happens when you leave your current books at home and have access to the entire library collection! This one might be coming on vacation with me if I don’t finish it by Thursday.
  • The Gods of Newport by John Jakes. Ok, I am really barely reading this one. I just thought it might be fun to read before I head to Newport myself!

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Vacation Time! 8/11/14

  1. I forgot that I had I’ll Give You the Sun, I should probably read it. I’m interested to hear what you think of it. It’s good to hear that it had an A.S King vibe. Amy rocks my socks off. She’s an awesome and fun person, too. I have Conversion on deck to read, once I finish the other 5 I’m in the middle of…

  2. I am so excited to read I’ll Give You The Sun!

  3. Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley – shall look forward to reading this, now on my growing TBR list… 🙂 Wow to the other novels completed! Happy reading. I was curious about that book Conversion, I know now, not an audiobook option… thanks.

  4. Ooh Mr. Mercedes – I started and had to stop while I finished up some other books. I’m back to it now and really enjoying it. Have a great week adn I hope you read more awesome books 🙂

Leave a Reply

