Top Ten Tuesday-To Read or Not To Read, That is the Question. 8/12/14

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is all about the books we are not sure about reading. The reasons may vary, but we all have those books that we just aren’t sure about.

I am not sure I want to read…

1. …The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. It has been on my TBR list forever, why haven’t I picked it up yet? At first I thought I would just wait until the series was complete. Well, it is and I still haven’t jumped on it. Is it time to give it the Graceling Treatment (aka, permission to remove a book from the TBR list without reading it, even if everyone says it’s the best thing ever)?

girl of fire

 

2. …Pure by Julianna Baggot. My first thought was, heck yes! Then I read the thing about the doll head fused to the hand and I got nervous. I am back to thinking I do actually want to read it. But the DOLL HEAD?!?

pure

3. …The Program by Suzanne Young. Sometimes I grow weary of YA science fiction. Sometimes, if I don’t start a series when it is fresh and hot and all the rage, I skip it completely. This could end up being a skip for me.

program

4. …After the End by Amy Plum. I do want to read this one, but I have heard it ends on a major cliffhanger and that really drives me crazy, so I will wait until there are at least two books out.

after the end

5.  …The Winner’s Curse by Maria Rutkoski. I have heard such mixed reviews for this one. Also, see The Program.

winner's curse

6. …The F—-It List by Julie Halpern. I have enjoyed other books by this author, but I put a strict ban on the reading of any and all cancer books. Do I make an exception? I haven’t heard of one yet that is worth breaking my own rule.

f list

7. Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer. This went on my TBR list shortly after I finished The Interestings. Now I am not so sure.

belzhar

8. …Partials by Dan Wells. Again, am I just a little bit over YA dystopian series? I really hope that isn’t true!

partials

9. …What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick. I LOVED My Life Next Door and greedily snatched this one up when it came out…and could not get into it. At. All. I don’t know if it was my mood or the book, but I am not sure I will ever try again.

what i thought

10. …Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. This one stresses me out. I LOVED Anna, couldn’t get past the first 20 pages of Lola, and now I have no idea what to do about Ilsa! So torn. I might give Lola a second try.

ilsa

So, do you think I should put some of these back on my TBR list or should we part ways now?

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-To Read or Not To Read, That is the Question. 8/12/14

  1. The Winner’s Curse and The Program were both amazing. I was actually hesitant myself when it came to reading them but I ended falling in love with both. You should definitely give them a try! I haven’t actually read any of the others but a few of them are on my TBR so I can’t provide any opinions on those.

  2. I personally did not like The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I read it, but I honestly do not care enough about the story to read the rest of the series. You should not feel guilty about not reading it. I just bought The Program and I have heard good things about it. I have not read a good YA sci-fi in a while, so I have high hopes for it.
    My TTT
    http://4evercrazyforya.blogspot.com/2014/08/top-ten-tuesday-12-top-ten-books-were.html

  3. I was really excited for Belzhar when I first heard about it, but I couldn’t even finish The Interestings, which every one seemed to love so now I’m not sure either!

  4. I have some of these on my tbr and I am looking forward to reading them. At the same time, I checked some of these out and I literally have no idea if I really want to read them or not…

  5. I haven’t read any of these, so I couldn’t say. I’ve never even heard of some of them!

Leave a Reply

