Mondays with Megan-Back to Reality 8/25/14

After a week and a half of vacation, it’s finally time for me to get back to work. It’s been a long time since I have had a vacation that has truly felt like a vacation should-fun and relaxing. My cousin’s wedding brought us all together in Newport, RI and I was fortunate enough to build in some extra days before and after, which allowed me to spend some time in Boston as well. I have never to been to either place and had a fantastic time just wandering around with my siblings and eating ALL the seafood. What I didn’t do is read, so my Monday list is tiny! That’s ok, this short report means I have more time to search for the perfect clam chowder recipe. Anyone have one they want to share?

In the meantime, It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

mondayreading new monday

Be sure to stop by Books Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great reading suggestions.

Finished:

that summer summer of letting go

  • That Summer by Lauren Willig. Julia is unemployed and in a rut when she receives word that she has inherited a home in England from an unknown great-aunt. With nothing better to do, she heads Herne Hill to sort through the house. When she discovers a painting hidden in a wardrobe, she begins to research the history of the house. With the help of an antiques dealers, she pieces together the story of Imogen Grantham, the lady of the house in 1849. I really enjoyed the dual story lines of this standalone novel. Fans of The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes won’t want to miss this one!
  • The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner. It’s been four years since Frankie’s little brother Simon drowned. She’s nearly sixteen now, but her guilt over the drowning has kept her stuck in the past. Her mother is a shadow of her former self, her father may be having an affair, and Frankie is pining for her best friend’s boyfriend. The only ray of light in her otherwise dismal summer is another Frankie. Frankie Sky is a four-year boy who reminds her so much of her beloved little brother. Spending time with Frankie Sky could be just what she needs to heal. This story was lovely and heartbreaking, but I really had an issue with the romance aspect.

Current Audio:

guy in real life wells end

  • Guy in Real Life by Steve Brezenoff
  • The Well’s End by Seth Fishman

Currently Reading:

i'll give you the sun dark triumph romeo redeemed

  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson-one of the best books I have read so far this year. It is so heartbreakingly beautiful. I love it.
  • Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers-More assassin awesomeness.
  • Romeo Redeemed by Stacey Jay-I just had to find out what happened!

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

2 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Back to Reality 8/25/14

  1. I’m getting very tired of books where the characters can’t stop grieving. It’s not interesting to read about, nor is it really helpful to anyone. Much more interesting and helpful to see how people move on.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about these two novels. I’ve seen a lot of reviews about The Summer of Letting Go, and I’m glad to hear about your candid thoughts about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

