Top Ten Tuesday-Underrated Books 9/9/14

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is all about the amazing books that have to walk in the shadows of the mega-blockbuster-hits. The underrated and the under appreciated. The books we love and can’t figure out why EVERY SINGLE PERSON HASN’T READ THEM. Come on, folks, let’s give them some love! I can’t wait to see what other people selected. Here are my favorites:

 

1. Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers. Haunting, brutal, disturbing.

some girls

2. Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore. A clever ghost story/mystery with a sassy heroine, a hunky cowboy, and some troublesome goats. So smart and cute! Please disregard the not so awesome cover!

texas gothic

3. The Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey. Swoony-vampires, witty banter, and bad*ss heroines. I love this series.

hearts at stake

4. Stork by Wendy Delsol. Ok, I totally have a thing for awesome heroines!

stork

5. Mothership by Martin Leicht. Laugh-out-loud hilarious.

mothership

How about some underrated leading men?

6. How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller. A boarding school for the criminally insane? Yes, please!

life of crime

7. Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride. Wicked, dark humor!

hold me closer 2

8. The Cardturner by Louis Sachar. Not *just* a YA book about bridge!

cardturner

9. I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. It’s not easy being the son a serial killer!

i hunt killers

10. Reality Boy by A.S. King. Reality television isn’t so funny when you consider the damaging affects it can have on the stars.

reality boy

I hope you see something on this list that sparks your interest!

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Underrated Books 9/9/14

  1. I adore A.S. King. Texas Gothic is sitting on my shelf, staring at me and wondering why I haven’t read it yet. Rosemary Clement-Moore is wonderful. I have Stork, too. I hope to read it soon. I’ve seen How to Lead a Life of Crime of quite a few lists today. Great list, thanks for sharing!

    Michelle @ Michelle’s Minions

    My TTT

  2. Follow my Blog? I do reviews on Rock n Roll Autobiographies.

    therealrene.wordpress.com

  3. My friend recently bought the Cardturner, maybe I’ll have to borrow it from her now. Also I’ve been meaning to get Reality Boys for a while now. Great list!

  4. Yesss! I have How to Lead a Life Of Crime on my list too!! It’s totally underrated! I haven’t actually heard of the others, except Reality Boy, so I’m definitely assuming they’re underrated. 😉 Here’s my TTT!

  5. ‘Haunting’ is the perfect way to describe a Some Girls Are. It’s a brilliant piece of work but quite uncomfortable to read at times.

  6. Some Girls Are is a fantastic book! Great list 🙂

  7. There are some books on your list that people have been yelling at me to read, like Some Girls Are, How to Lead a Life of Crime, and I Hunt Killers. Nice to see someone else vouch for them as well! I’ll have to grab those ones, for sure.

Leave a Reply

