Monday with Megan-Still No Time to Read! 9/15/14

I have been living a relatively drama free life for a while now. Apparently the universe found out and decided I was due for some chaos! Luckily it’s nothing I can’t handle, but it really is cutting into my reading time. I am counting October to be a calmer, book-filled month. Until then, I will continue to plug away at my books when I can.

Oh! I did recently learn that Cassandra Clare and Holly Black will be at my local Barnes & Noble in October! Northeast Ohio is like a black hole when it comes to author visits. This is EPIC! This is HUGE! I am so freaking excited! I will use all of the !!!!

Ok, time for another brief Monday check-in.

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

legend last dragonslayer

  •  Legend by Marie Lu. I reread this one for the third time for my book club. It really is fantastic dystopian.
  • The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde. At Kazam, an employment agency for magicians, work is hard to come by. Modern conveniences are cheap and magic is not as powerful as it once was. But when the death of the last dragon is predicted, many in the magical community take this as a sign of chance, as a sign that Big Magic is coming. For Jennifer Strange, a foundling and manager of Kazam, big changes are in store for her. I am so happy that I randomly picked this audiobook. It is charming and funny and magical. I love the ethical dilemmas, the jabs at corporations and greed, and most of all, the quarkbeast. My middle school book club is clamoring to read fantasy and this will be the first one I hand them. Loved it.

Current Audio:

say what you will seven

  • Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern. This is my dog walking book. I am enjoying it more than I had expected.
  • Seven for a Secret by Lyndsay Faye. This is sequel to Gods of Gotham, another pleasant surprise for me!

Currently Reading:

feed secret place firebug letters from skye

  • Feed by M.T. Anderson. I am rereading this for my high school book club. It is pretty disturbing. Facebook is like one step away from a feed…
  • The Secret Place by Tana French. The fifth book in the Dublin Murder Squad series. I want to be reading this one ALL. The. Time. *shakes fist at job*
  • Firebug by Lish McBride. I swear it just started getting REALLY good. Why don’t I have time to read? WHY?
  • Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole. This is the perfect bedtime book. I read a few letters at a time and then it’s lights out.

On Deck:

I don’t even know where to begin…

 

 

7 responses to “Monday with Megan-Still No Time to Read! 9/15/14

  1. I love Jasper Fforde! I got hooked on the Eyre Affair series, but I love The Last Dragonslayer almost as much! You have so many good books on your list! I can’t wait to read Firebug – I would read anything Lish McBride writes!

  2. I used to live in Northwast Ohio–wherebouts are you?
    I want to read the Secret place and the Jasper Fforde series. I really liked his fairy tale series…

  3. I really want to read the last dragonslayer, it looks like a awesome read, heres to hoping you have a dramaless life coming up:)

    Here’s My Monday post!

  4. Have fun at the author visit. When I read that, I was trying to figure out just how far away southeast Indiana is from northeast Ohio. It can’t be that far, can it? I can relate to the black hole for author visits, though I did catch a rare Indiana appearance by John Green a few years ago. FEED was very disturbing, and too close for comfort, especially when I check out the FB ads that appear on the side. I’m sometimes tempted to click like on lots of random things just to mess with it. Here’s to more reading in the future!

  5. That sounds like a good author event coming up. Letters from Skye was good i thought, i liked it a lot. Heard good things about Legend, as well…

  6. We’re having a fantasy theme very soon – and Jasper Fforde’s novels sound like a perfect fit. I have his Tuesday Next series but haven’t gotten around to reading all of them yet. I do love his turns of phrases though, so will be on the lookout for this one.

Leave a Reply

