Mondays with Megan-The Count Down to the Readathon Begins! 10/13/14

Last week I spent three days in Columbus for the Ohio Library Council Convention and Expo. It was even more amazing than I had imagined it would be. I am still sifting and sorting through all of the materials and ideas that I collected, but I can safely say that I feel re-energized and more excited than ever to be a librarian. There are great things on the horizon! Speaking of the future, it’s time to start a Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon countdown. You know how much I love this event, right? We are just 5 short days away! I have been hoarding books like a crazy person for a while now, but there is always room for more choices! This readathon comes at a perfect time for me. I am way behind on my reading challenge and the end of the year is creeping closer every day, making it harder to catch up. I am hoping this will put me back on track, especially since my day-to-day reading has been quite pitiful these days (at least I don’t wonder why I am behind!) Here, see for yourself:

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

blood of my blood pure skulduggery

  • Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga is the conclusion to the Jasper Dent trilogy. I think this was the most psychologically disturbing of the series and I did not see the twists coming! This is a thrilling and satisfying conclusion.
  • Pure by Julianna Baggott is the first in a dystopian trilogy. I am not sure I will continue the series. The concept of people being fused with things from their surroundings after a nuclear blast is pretty interesting, but other than that I found nothing new here. It was just ok for me.
  • Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy is a new to me discovery and I cannot stop wonder out loud WHY IS THIS NEW TO ME? I love it so much. How can you not love an animated skeleton who is a paranormal detective? How can you not love a 12-year-old girl who gets thrown into the dangerous world of wizards and magic and monsters? Oh, and the banter. The sassy, sassy, banter! I am sad that this first one is the only book in the series that I can find on audio, because it was an amazing production!

Current Audio:

silkworm revenge of seven

Currently Reading:

walled city not my father's son

So far I am loving the Alan Cumming memoir!

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Mondays with Megan-The Count Down to the Readathon Begins! 10/13/14

  1. Oooh! The timing might be right for this read-a-thon for me. And I’m hiding my head in shame; I went to Kidlitcon but haven’t been to local conferences in years. Have you nominated for Cybils? Nominations close on Wednesday, and I’d love to see more nominations. Any shout out or lists of things you’d like to see nominated that you’re comfortable with would be great, too!

  2. Hi there Megan, I have a few Skulduggery Pleasant novels, but I am under the delusion that I would be able to collect the entire series before I start reading the books. Hah. 🙂 Glad to note that you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

