Mondays With Megan-In which I confess to not reading very much-11/3/14

Happy Monday! I am still trying to work out my massive Halloween sugar overdose. I am also starting to panic about how close we are to the end of the year. I fear I may have been overly ambitious with my 2014 reading goal (my total slacking on reading hasn’t helped either). I need to somehow read/listen to 44 more books before January 1. *sigh* How about another shameful Monday reading list?

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

inventor's secret playing with fire

  • The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Cremer. In this alternate reality “steampunk” series opener the American Revolution never occurred and the British Empire is a sprawling industrial machine. Sounds promising, right? It’s not. I found this book to be boring and full of cliches. A ridiculous romance takes center stage, at the expense of the actual plot. Also, throwing in a few gadgets does not give you a steampunk novel.
  • Playing with Fire by Derek Landy. This is the second book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series (which is quickly becoming a new favorite of mine!). The Council of Elders has been rocked with betrayal, an evil sorcerer has mysteriously escaped from prison, a vampire is out to get Valkyrie, and the return of the Faceless Ones seems inevitable. Magic and adventure and danger and snark, this series has it all! Love it.

Current Audio:

silkworm torn away

  • The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith. This one is so long. I am enjoying it very much, but it feels like it is taking forever. I have 1.5 discs to go!
  • Torn Away by Jennifer Brown. This is my new Playaway, randomly picked up at the library. So far so good.

Currently Reading:

neil patrick harris dream a little dream

  • Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography…I am savoring this one and will probably finish tonight.
  • Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier. I have barely started my arc of this one, but I am confident it will be great!

On Deck:

big little lies

To Reread:

shadow of the blackbirds thirteen reasons why

These are my book club selections for November.

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

4 responses to “Mondays With Megan-In which I confess to not reading very much-11/3/14

  1. Glad to hear your honest review of Cremer’s book – I would have picked it up based on the blurb and the topic. Now I know, though.

  2. Not a shameful list at all – looks like you have a lot of good books going on right now! I’ve been meaning to try one of the Robert Galbraith novels but haven’t gotten to it yet.

    Enjoy your books this week!

    Sue

    Book By Book

  3. I appreciate the heads up about The Inventor’s Secret. Life is to short to read bad books. I think I shall have to find a copy of Skulduggery Pleasant and check it out.

  4. I own several titles from the Skulduggery Pleasant series, but I’m holding off reading them until perhaps I have all the books in the series. Hehehe. Tall order, I know. I don’t even know how many books there are – but really looking forward to it. I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying them.

Leave a Reply

