Top Ten Tuesday-Books I Want to Reread-11/7/14

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is about rereading. I am not much of a rereader, but last year I thoroughly enjoyed rereading the entire Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter. That is as far as I have gotten. For me it’s not that I am in uninterested in revisiting a favorite story, it’s more that I feel a lot of pressure to constantly be reading new things. I have yet to find a balance. Maybe that can be a bookish resolution for 2015! So, if I ever commit to rereading, here is where I will start:

1. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I loved this book so much. I read an advanced copy, but I think I should own it…and of course, reread.

i'll give you the sun

2. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I listened to this one and it took a while to get into, but now that I know how wonderful the book is, I will gladly use my own eyes to reread it.

jellicoe road

3. Curse Workers Trilogy by Holly Black. Last week I had to opportunity to ask Holly Black if there was going to be any more books in this series. Her answer was surprising. She said that the publisher is going to repackage the trilogy and market it as an adult series. She also revealed that she has two more books in mind, but is not yet working on them. I offered to send her friendly reminders…So, in anticipation of someday reading more about Cassel and friends, I might just reread the entire trilogy. The second time around I think I will listen; I hear Jesse Eisenberg is a fantastic reader.

white-cat

4. The Diviners by Libba Bray. I might have to reread just to refresh my memory before reading the next book. Again, I am tempted to listen to this one for my reread, but I so terrified of hearing the Naughty John song and never, ever begin able to get it out of my head….

diviners

5. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I loved the audio and if I ever reread I will probably get the audio again. Wil Wheaton is an awesome reader.

ready

6. Winger by Andrew Smith. I devoured this book in 2 sittings. A reread would allow my to slow down and savor it.

winger

7. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. I am curious to see how this one holds up. I loved it first came out. I was kind of new to zombies. It was a perfect fit. A reread five years later would be interesting.

forest of hands and teeth

8. The Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey. I haven’t read a really fantastic vampire book in a while. I might need to revisit the Drakes. *swoon*

hearts

9. The complete works of A.S. King. Seriously. I will eventually reread everything she writes. Except maybe for Dust of 100 Dogs. That was not my favorite. I still have to read Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future. I can’t wait!

please ignore vera dietz ask everybody sees the ants reality boy glory o'brien

10. Maggie Quinn: Girl vs. Evil series by Rosemary Clement-Moore. This series is seriously neglected at my library. I feel like I should check them out, reread them, and try to push them on a new group of readers.

maggie

Bonus: Non-YA rereads

1. Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. The minute they announce an official publication date for book 6, I WILL start rereading and I will start from the beginning.

2. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I remember loving this one when I read it years ago. I own a copy and feel compelled to reread it some day.

3. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. See above.

4. Trinity by Leon Uris. This is one of the few books I have already reread. It’s a bit of a family tradition and I am long overdue for a reread.

5. The Spellmans series by Lisa Lutz. This series was SO good.

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books I Want to Reread-11/7/14

  1. I found the Holly Black books on some blog a while ago, and thought ‘hey, some Black I haven’t read, I should fix that.’ So far, no success, but the books will make it into my hands someday.

  2. I must not have gotten to the good part of Winger yet…it’s charming, but a bit boring for me so far. Ready Player One is a good one to reread–maybe I’ll get more references the second time around. Black Cat I’ve been meaning to read for years now…maybe I’ll get to it in 2015? Great list!

Leave a Reply

