Mondays with Megan-I am thankful for all the reading time I had this weekend! 11/24/14

Happy Monday! I don’t know about you, but I have a short work week this week, thanks to Thanksgiving and I plan to do a bunch of reading. It’s crunch time now and I have 36 days to finish 29 books if I want to meet by 2014 reading goal. If I keep up the pace I was at last week, this should be a piece of cake. Of course, last I was unusually lazy/productive with my reading. Just look-

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts. Be sure to see what they are up to this week.

Finished:

thirteen reasons why dirty dumb eyes morning glory bandette pawn big little lies All Fall Down

  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. I reread this for my high school book club. I have mixed feelings about this book, but my teen readers loved it.
  • My Dirty Dumb Eyes by Lisa Hanawalt. I have recently taken over ordering adult graphic novels for my library’s collection. I picked this one up out of curiosity. What a treat! It is so weird and wonderful and I immediately handed it to my coworker.
  • Morning Glory by Sarah Jio. This was another random selection. I did enjoy this dual point of view story. Readers are introduced to Penny, a young housewife in 1959 and Ada, a newly widowed young woman looking for a fresh start. Both women live in the floating community of Boat Street in Seattle.
  • Bandette, Vol. 1: Presto! by Paul Tobin. This is a campy, cheeky, and clever graphic novel starring Bandette, a teenaged thief who causes trouble for both the police and the criminal underworld.
  • Pawn by Aimee Carter. Yet another dystopian novel that requires readers to suspend their disbelief. I received an ARC of Captivate from the publisher, so I will read it, but it’s not something I would have chosen for myself.
  • Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. I absolutely loved this one. The lives of three very different women intersect when their children attend the same kindergarten class. This clever character study is light reading with a dark center.
  • All Fall Down by Ally Carter. This new series, Embassy Row, is everything I love about all of her other books, but darker and edgier. I am thrilled about this new series and promise fans will not be disappointed.

Current Audio:

yes please song of the quarkbeast

Currently Reading:

faceless ones 1339 my true love flunked

On Deck:

I have no idea!

 

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

3 responses to “Mondays with Megan-I am thankful for all the reading time I had this weekend! 11/24/14

  1. I recently read “Big Little Lies” and enjoyed it as well, I’m almost finished listening to “Yes, Please” and I think it may be my favorite audiobook ever!

  2. I’ve read lots of great buzz for Yes, Please so I put it on hold as an audiobook. I’ve got a copy of 13 Reasons Why, but I’m afraid to get into it. Big Little Lies looks very interesting.

  3. Very intrigued by the Jasper Fforde novel – I’ve read contrasting reviews about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

